Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-26-2008, 08:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Share |
Question

Hard wire 2 smoke detectors together


Hello all.

I need to know how to properly hard wire together 2 smoke detectors on the same floor so that if one detects a fire, both of them will set off their alarms.

I have heard that you a need 3 wire cable to go between both alarms, but I don't know for sure what I need. Also, what thickness of wire should I need/use? Just standard 14/3?

Could someone post a wiring diagram? It would be much appreciated.

Anything else that I may need to know would help out too. I want to have the wires at least ran through the ceiling ASAP so that I can insulate and drywall.

Thanks!!

tstorzuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 09:23 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,134
Default

Hard wire 2 smoke detectors together


You need to run a 14/2 to your first smoke, can't say for sure where you can pull this power from because i don't know which country you are in. You will need 14/3 to connect the two together(black-hot, white-neutral, red-interconnec) The interconnect is usually orange on the smoke.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 162
Default

Hard wire 2 smoke detectors together


Some localities require the smoke detector circuit to be wired into the master bedroom lighting circuit. This way if the breaker trips (and you no longer have working smoke detectors), you'll know it. If you have both 14/2 and 14/3 you can run it the way darren suggests. If you haven't purchased the wire yet, you might consider just picking up the 3 wire. You won't need the additional red for the first part of the new circuit, so cap it off (small wire nut) at the first point of the circuit (panel or junction/splice box) and where it enters the first smoke's location. From the first to the last smoke detector, wire the way darren suggests. Pushing the test button only tests the smoke detector you're at. To make sure they all work, blow out a couple of candles nearby (or if you smoke) and all of them should sound.
petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 07:38 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Hard wire 2 smoke detectors together


Quote:
Originally Posted by petey_c View Post
Some localities require the smoke detector circuit to be wired into the master bedroom lighting circuit. This way if the breaker trips (and you no longer have working smoke detectors), you'll know it.
I prefer that smoke detectors be on a circuit with other lights for just this reason, but I should point out - loss of power shouldn't mean loss of protection.
Buy smoke detectors with battery backup, not AC-only. Actually, I think they are required everywhere now. Been required here for a long time.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 05:59 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Hard wire 2 smoke detectors together


Quote:
Originally Posted by petey_c View Post
Some localities require the smoke detector circuit to be wired into the master bedroom lighting circuit. This way if the breaker trips (and you no longer have working smoke detectors), you'll know it. If you have both 14/2 and 14/3 you can run it the way darren suggests. If you haven't purchased the wire yet, you might consider just picking up the 3 wire. You won't need the additional red for the first part of the new circuit, so cap it off (small wire nut) at the first point of the circuit (panel or junction/splice box) and where it enters the first smoke's location. From the first to the last smoke detector, wire the way darren suggests. Pushing the test button only tests the smoke detector you're at. To make sure they all work, blow out a couple of candles nearby (or if you smoke) and all of them should sound.
Holding the test button down on one smoke should also set off the other interconnected smokes - If not, there is a problem - read the manufacturers instructions and there should also be a wiring diagram included
____________
muck
muckusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alarm, fire, hard wire, smoke detector, wire


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wired smoke alarm in NYS ADKstorm Electrical 12 04-30-2009 09:58 PM
smoke detectors going off for no reason? arichard21 Electrical 18 04-20-2008 10:37 PM
compressor... to hard wire crecore Electrical 3 11-10-2007 12:02 PM
NEC code and Smoke Detectors diverdaveman Electrical 10 07-23-2007 07:27 AM
Wired Smoke Detectors? bjstewa Electrical 2 05-09-2007 08:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.