Hard Time Trying To Wire 4 Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2008, 07:18 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10

Hard Time Trying To Wire 4 Switches

Hi everyone i'm having a hard time trying to wire 4 switches to control 2 light, i have bought and found a couple of books but none explain how to wire such a cuircut . Right now i have i have 4 3-way switches but no look so if anyone has any suggestion please help!


kenny357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 08:02 PM   #2
SD515's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,452
Rewards Points: 504

2 switches controlling a load is a 3-way circuit. 3 or more switches controlling a load is a 4-way circuit.

In your case, you need two 3-way switches, and two 4-way switches. One 3-way sw goes at the beginning of the 'run' and will have power enter and start the switch leg. The other 3-way will be at the end of the 'run', and the load will connect to it. The 2 4-way switches go between the 3-ways. Let us know how you have your circuit set up...what wires you have pulled, which box the source (supplying power) enters and which box the load enters.



Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 10:44 AM   #3
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,803
Rewards Points: 10,398
Blog Entries: 11

You need two 3way switches and two 4 way switches. Tell us how you cabled this and I will draw you a diagram. Do NOT attempt to put two fixture between the switches.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bonding (bond wire) & Spa Installation on existing concrete pad crusius2 Electrical 1 11-14-2007 12:00 PM
compressor... to hard wire crecore Electrical 3 11-10-2007 12:02 PM
I really need help! POOK Electrical 34 04-20-2007 07:01 PM
ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected? gonzales9 Electrical 5 01-12-2006 08:10 PM
Hard time with contractor jaskoo Building & Construction 10 11-30-2005 06:07 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1