Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2013, 03:13 AM   #1
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Share |
Default

handy tester for new owners


might consider picking up one or similar from Harbor Freight great for volts/amps,and ringing out wires and switches .hang it on a nail above the work bench for those midnight runs.item #96308


Last edited by biggles; 06-28-2013 at 03:18 AM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:20 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

handy tester for new owners


and a multimeter to back it up won't break the bank either#37772

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 07:02 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

handy tester for new owners


The top one is all the multi-meter most folks will ever need. Although I'd spend a few more dollars and get a decent one.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

handy tester for new owners


I bought a cheap Triplet clamp meter and I cannot trust the current readings.
With no current flowing, the meter shows about 2-3 amps that are not present. (no ac adjustment)
POS, IMO
Spent over $100 on it.

Should have coughed up another $200 and got a good Fluke clamp.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 01:50 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 161
Default

handy tester for new owners


Is this one good enough for basic electrical testing around the house?
They give these out for free all the time.


pman6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 03:23 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,236
Default

handy tester for new owners


I did buy the ammeter shown from H.F. Compared amp readings to 2 different amprobe meters and all were the same where I liked it,until I dropped it.Lost the display.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 01:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,340
Default

handy tester for new owners


I am not a Craftsman guy but I will say I have really been pleased with their multimeter. When it comes to electric I would NEVER trust a Harbor Freight unit.

Last edited by ToolSeeker; 08-01-2013 at 01:15 PM.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 01:20 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,440
Default

handy tester for new owners


Quote:
Originally Posted by pman6 View Post
Is this one good enough for basic electrical testing around the house?
They give these out for free all the time.
Who gives them out for free and where can I get one?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 04:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 161
Default

handy tester for new owners


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Who gives them out for free and where can I get one?
harbor freight. they give out coupons all the time.
pman6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 04:20 PM   #10
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

handy tester for new owners


get analog.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:56 PM   #11
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 516
Default

handy tester for new owners


I have a half dozen of those free meters. They all work. I have one in each tool box. I have one of their amp meters and was accurate when i was trouble shooting a dryer issue.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:29 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,696
Default

handy tester for new owners


I buy Harbor Freight tools all the time. They are so cheap that I don't mind if one occasionally breaks or doesn't work quite right. The stuff that does work more than makes up for that.

I don't have a problem with a cheap multimeter. However, when it comes to using a tester to see if there is voltage present before working on the wires, I would highly recommend something better and more reliable than a Harbor Freight tool. It's too risky.
jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffnc For This Useful Post:
ToolSeeker (08-02-2013)
Old 08-01-2013, 08:33 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

handy tester for new owners


http://www.lowes.com/pd_205783-72068-TK-30_0__
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:53 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 161
Default

handy tester for new owners


I just got the free HF multimeter, and in the instruction sheet, it says not to use it in circuits higher than 10 amps. All the circuit breakers are either 15 or 20 amps

so that means I can't test an electrical box for ground connection?
pman6 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pman6 For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (08-02-2013)
Old 08-02-2013, 08:51 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

handy tester for new owners


Quote:
Originally Posted by pman6 View Post
I just got the free HF multimeter, and in the instruction sheet, it says not to use it in circuits higher than 10 amps. All the circuit breakers are either 15 or 20 amps

so that means I can't test an electrical box for ground connection?
10a limitation is likey speaking only to when using to measure current with the meter in series with the circuit.

__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vsheetz For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (08-02-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to buy good value compression tester for a DIY'er- Suggestions? amodoko Automotive Repairs 4 02-11-2013 10:22 AM
Electrical Newbie - Voltage Tester has "O" "L" "H" Settings - Not sure if wire is hot splendorlex Electrical 11 01-20-2013 11:41 PM
there is power according to the tester, but no power when you plug in the lamp? Beckiec4 Electrical 6 10-20-2012 07:39 PM
Need recommendation of non-contact voltage tester miamicuse Electrical 6 05-22-2012 04:33 PM
Non-contact tester trips but multimeter reads 0 volts paladin-x Electrical 11 02-02-2012 12:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.