Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2010, 11:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Halogen track lighting quit working


I installed the halogen track lighting a few months ago and it worked fine except a couple of bulbs went out. I replaced them with 50W instead of the recommended 20W max. So I had 160W going on a track that was supposed to have 150W max. That worked OK for a few weeks, then the whole thing went out.

I tightened everything, replaced the 50W bulbs with 20W bulbs so I had 100W going on the track rated for 150W. The lights would go on, but quickly the whole thing would go out. I figured it was the transformer.

Installed a new transformer of exactly the same brand and specs: Lightech LET-151. 120V input, 12V output. Lights went on for a couple of seconds, then out again.

The Lightech transformer has an "auto-reset," so there is no reset button on it. It seems the only time it resets is when I disconnect it from the power source and reconnect it.

Not sure what to do next.

Dialogdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 01:00 PM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Halogen track lighting quit working


Make sure the hot connection to the track and end cap are both fully inserted and tight and are engaging the track. Sometimes they work loose.

user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 01:02 PM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,510
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Halogen track lighting quit working


You are obviously a DIYer that has just learned a valuable lesson and made a DIY attempt that sounds logical to recover. What do your meter readings tell you?
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 08:57 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Halogen track lighting quit working


I think I've narrowed it to a grounding issue. The canopy cover is loose and I can't figure out how to tighten it. There's some kind of insulating washer around the central metal piece to which the ground wire is attached and through which the hot wire runs. The looseness is around that washer.

With everything connected and tightened up, I get a 12 volt reading only when I touch one lead to the contact at the rail and the other poking around that loose insulator/washer and the metal canopy.

I will keep trying to figure out how to assemble/disassemble this piece until I break it. Meantime, I have an email into the manufacturer, Alfa.
Dialogdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 09:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Lightbulb

Halogen track lighting quit working


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialogdog View Post
I think I've narrowed it to a grounding issue. The canopy cover is loose and I can't figure out how to tighten it. There's some kind of insulating washer around the central metal piece to which the ground wire is attached and through which the hot wire runs. The looseness is around that washer.

With everything connected and tightened up, I get a 12 volt reading only when I touch one lead to the contact at the rail and the other poking around that loose insulator/washer and the metal canopy.

I will keep trying to figure out how to assemble/disassemble this piece until I break it. Meantime, I have an email into the manufacturer, Alfa.
A good (and basic) suggestion; Re-read the original assembly/installation instructions. Or get on the Mfr.'s website and get the assembly & parts list from there. Also, with the power off. You could run a continuity test on all the Grounding and power supply parts.!
p.s: Don't overload the sockets or the transformer & track by inserting higher wattage bulbs than recommended. It could burn out the transformer or any other part of the track assembly!

Last edited by spark plug; 02-08-2010 at 09:24 PM. Reason: More suggestions.
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
halogen, lighting, transformer


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Customized track lighting? CheshireFool Electrical 3 02-03-2010 03:37 AM
Dimmer for Halogen Track Lighting CompEngineer Electrical 2 12-04-2009 05:20 AM
Track Lighting Installation - No Electricty tazmajazz Electrical 11 10-19-2009 10:09 AM
LED track lighting feasible yet? GFW Electrical 8 01-22-2009 12:13 PM
Track Lighting newbie questions GFW Electrical 1 04-18-2008 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.