Halogen Bulb Instead Of Incandescent? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-03-2010, 04:15 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 254

halogen bulb instead of incandescent?

this is the fixture I have.
http://www.feiss.com/17046/WB1392BS-Sconce.html

I was wondering if one can put something like a PAR20 60W bulb because I like the color rendering of halogen. Obviously I am new to this and don't know if the heat will be different between 60W halogen and 60W tungsten

If that is a big mistake please let me know. The sticker on the fixture itself says 60W max.

Advertisement

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 05:43 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

Halogens are a nice bright light source. I have art gallery clients and do lighting for them. We live by halogens for now to point at artwork. They do burn really, really hot though at over something like 500F degrees so you need to make sure your fixture can take the heat. In a home, I would not enclose one in a fixture like you show.

You know, a new LED bulb array will set you back a few bucks but you will probably die before you ever have to replace it. I think you would like the color of the light too. You can get them almost as bright as as 60W conventional fixture and the technology is improving. CFLs come in different light colors too and that would be my second suggestion. You will not find the nicer color of light options at a box store though. You will need to go to your lighting and electrical supply dealer.

CFLs (compact florescents) will draw a fraction of a conventional bulb and an LED array will draw even less.