Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2011, 12:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Guy--Generator to main hook up


Hello everyone:

This is George from Michigan, I have a general question regarding the installation of a Wind Turbin. Does the NEC code require that a Master Electrician License is necessary to connect to a main service entrance?

George Groat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 01:10 PM   #2
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Guy--Generator to main hook up


If you can edit your title ( and move it to electical forum) you'd probably get an answer from someone who actually knows, but I'll give it my best guess if that's any help:

There is probably nothing in the NEC that requires this, but you will need to pull a permit for sure, and the local code may require it. Your permit office would be the place to start.

Like I said, just a guess, so take it for what it's worth. If you can edit your title to be more specif to your question, that would attract members who probably forgot more about the NEC than I'll ever know

__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 07:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Guy--Generator to main hook up


Many areas allow the live in homeonwer to do their own electrical work. You still have to follow local code, get permits, etc.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 07:47 AM   #4
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,120
Rewards Points: 2,882
Default

Guy--Generator to main hook up


Welcome George---I modified the title and moved this to electrical.

My guess is YES--Call your power company---Most require that the generator can not back feed the powerlines and kill a lineman---so I bet they want that part of the job done by a licensed electrician.

Just a guess.----Post your location --that will get you local code info.---Mike---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 07:49 AM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Guy--Generator to main hook up


Pretty much what they said. The NEC/IRC/IBC does not dictate who can do electrical work, that is a jurisdictional issue, it dictates how the electrical work is to be done.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-09-2011)
Old 09-09-2011, 07:51 AM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Guy--Generator to main hook up


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
Welcome George---I modified the title and moved this to electrical.

My guess is YES--Call your power company---Most require that the generator can not back feed the powerlines and kill a lineman---so I bet they want that part of the job done by a licensed electrician.

Just a guess.----Post your location --that will get you local code info.---Mike---
OP said Michigan.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (09-09-2011)
Old 09-09-2011, 12:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,132
Default

Guy--Generator to main hook up


You might have a bigger problem. Because residential wind turbines are still quite rare, people have trouble getting a permit to install one because their jurisdictions don't know what codes might apply.

md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Circuit Breaker Question vladmir1111 Electrical 2 08-20-2011 09:15 PM
main lug or main breaker kenmore Electrical 14 06-18-2011 12:13 PM
DWV remodel. Can I do this with my main? antalamo Plumbing 0 03-19-2011 10:29 AM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 10:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.