Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 09:57 AM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Share |
Default

Grounding Wire Size


HI;

I just want to verify that I understand this correctly. Grounding rods never require a larger wire size then 6 AWG, even if the service is 200A. However my understanding in that the bonding wire going to the water pipie and gas pipe must be sized to 4AWG for 200 Amp service.

Is this correct?

Thanks
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Need Help Uploading Photos?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:09 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Grounding Wire Size


For copper, yes.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:23 AM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Grounding Wire Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
For copper, yes.
Thanks. I always forget to mention that because I always use copper.

Thanks again
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Need Help Uploading Photos?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:26 AM   #4
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

Grounding Wire Size


The grounding electrode conductor is sized according to the Largest Ungrounded Service-Entrance Conductor per table 250.66 ( in the 2002 code book, I didnt have the 2005 with me) but #8 copper and #6 aluminum is the smallest you can use. But if you had over sized wires feeding your panel, you would need to size the gounding conductor larger also. Ex: If you feed your panel with a #1/0 AWG you would use a #6 ground , but if you had to size up due to voltage drop or some other reason to #2/0 AWG you would need a #4 AWG for the ground. So you'll need to verify the feeders before you consider the ground size. hope this helps
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:29 AM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Grounding Wire Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by ctsmiths View Post
The grounding electrode conductor is sized according to the Largest Ungrounded Service-Entrance Conductor per table 250.66 ( in the 2002 code book, I didnt have the 2005 with me) but #8 copper and #6 aluminum is the smallest you can use. But if you had over sized wires feeding your panel, you would need to size the gounding conductor larger also. Ex: If you feed your panel with a #1/0 AWG you would use a #6 ground , but if you had to size up due to voltage drop or some other reason to #2/0 AWG you would need a #4 AWG for the ground. So you'll need to verify the feeders before you consider the ground size. hope this helps

Check out 250.66 (A)

Last edited by chris75; 01-17-2009 at 10:33 AM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:34 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Grounding Wire Size


Jamie, if you're not using over 3/0 cu then the #4 is fine.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:34 AM   #7
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Grounding Wire Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Your talking about an equipment ground, not a GEC. check out 250.66 (A)
The grounding rods connection the SE is always 6awg correct?

And on 200A service the bond to the other metal in the home would be 4awg or smaller awg (i.e. 2awg 0awg).

All copper.

That's correct isn't it?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Need Help Uploading Photos?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:37 AM   #8
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Grounding Wire Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Jamie, if you're not using over 3/0 cu then the #4 is fine.
I think the SE cable is 3/0 AL. We are not planing to replace that at this point. If the SE cable was larger than 3/0 would I need to make the bonding connection to the water pipe with a larger size wire thatn 4 awg copper?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Need Help Uploading Photos?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:37 AM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Grounding Wire Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
HI;

I just want to verify that I understand this correctly. Grounding rods never require a larger wire size then 6 AWG,
As long as the ground rod is the only connection for that GEC.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:44 AM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Grounding Wire Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
The grounding rods connection the SE is always 6awg correct?
You can have a 2000 amp service, and if you choose to run a seperate GEC to groundrods then #6 is all that is required.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
And on 200A service the bond to the other metal in the home would be 4awg or smaller awg (i.e. 2awg 0awg).

All copper.

That's correct isn't it?

Jamie
Bonding the water and any other required Grounding Electrodes would be off of Table 250.66.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:53 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Grounding Wire Size


When I said "if you're not using over 3/0" earlier it's because you said you always use copper. For 200 amps you need 4/0 aluminum. The range for aluminum is 4/0-250 for a #4.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size for dryer jamiedolan Electrical 14 01-15-2009 05:43 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Aluminum wire size/ guage / amps? walt1122 Electrical 17 07-30-2008 10:44 AM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.