Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2013, 11:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 31
Share |
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Hi all,

I had a new 200amp service installed. They ran a grounding wire through my attic to the hot water heater in the garage. The problem is that the garage attic and house attic are separate by a wall. So, the guys went up through the roof, ran the ground over the roof, and then back down into the garage. I don't understand why they did not go through the wall, to avoid two roof penetrations and an annoying looking wire on the roof. Any suggestions here, can I tuck that thing back in, or is there a reason they did it this way?

I am attaching a picture of what I am talking about. There is a second line in the shot, but that is a drain from my cooler.

Thanks for the advice.

-Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Grounding wire on roof-photo-2-.jpg  
archsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:25 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,233
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Yeah...not legal or professional in any way. Was this a real electrical contractor or someone off of Craig's List? Is there a permit? Show the inspector.

Craig's List + problems + no permit = nothing good
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-23-2013), plummen (10-24-2013)
Old 10-23-2013, 11:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 31
Default

Grounding wire on roof


This was actually a reputable solar panel installer in my city, Las Cruces, NM. They have great reviews on angieslist. You think this violates code? Wow.

Definitely a permit was pulled, or was supposedly pulled. They have to get it approved by all the different agencies for me to get tax credit.

Last edited by archsteve; 10-23-2013 at 11:39 PM.
archsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:37 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,924
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by archsteve View Post
This was actually a reputable solar panel installer in my city, Las Cruces, NM. They have great reviews on angieslist. You think this violates code? Wow.

Definitely a permit was pulled.
Does not look like they are that reputable, if doing workmanship like that. As for Angieslist, that is worse than Craigslist. Forget about what reviews you see on Angieslist, due to 99.99% are staged, just like you see on yelp.com or Fleabay.

I would be calling the city and dropping the company's name with the AHJ, and have then go check any other sites that they have pulled this with.

If it first glance, it looks more like Lightning protection, then a Earthing or bonding ground.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:41 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,233
Default

Grounding wire on roof


I can't think of a actual NEC code that it violates (assuming they used #4) except 110.12.

Mechanical Execution of Work. Electrical equipment shall be installed in a neat and workmanlike manner.

Make sure you are home for the inspection, and make sure the inspector sees what is laying on your roof.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (10-24-2013), plummen (10-24-2013)
Old 10-23-2013, 11:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 31
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I can't think of a actual NEC code that it violates (assuming they used #4) except 110.12.

Mechanical Execution of Work. Electrical equipment shall be installed in a neat and workmanlike manner.

Make sure you are home for the inspection, and make sure the inspector sees what is laying on your roof.
I will definitely get this looked at. Thanks for you input here!
archsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:47 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,924
Default

Grounding wire on roof


That besides tripping hazard if someone was to go up there and work on the roof for some reason, or the possibility of Lightning attraction if storms roll through, or from Static Discharge during Dust Storms.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 04:07 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
That besides tripping hazard if someone was to go up there and work on the roof for some reason, or the possibility of Lightning attraction if storms roll through, or from Static Discharge during Dust Storms.

I guess anyone that uses COPPER flashing, copper covers over the vent pipes or COPPER GUTTERS is screwed then HUH ??? or the many many houses that the vent pipe is actually COOPER PIPE sticking out of the roof !!!!
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer

Last edited by Philly Master; 10-24-2013 at 04:10 AM.
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-24-2013), plummen (10-24-2013), stickboy1375 (10-24-2013)
Old 10-24-2013, 06:01 AM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
I guess anyone that uses COPPER flashing, copper covers over the vent pipes or COPPER GUTTERS is screwed then HUH ??? or the many many houses that the vent pipe is actually COOPER PIPE sticking out of the roof !!!!
How about a copper metal roof... very common around here.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-24-2013), Philly Master (10-24-2013)
Old 10-24-2013, 06:03 AM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by archsteve View Post
Hi all,

They ran a grounding wire through my attic to the hot water heater in the garage.
-Steve
Not even sure why they went to the water heater????
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-24-2013), Know A Little (10-24-2013), plummen (10-24-2013)
Old 10-24-2013, 07:08 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
How about a copper metal roof... very common around here.

Due to the potential electrical,shock hazard ... All residential customers with this dangerous condition in the home should buy a Tesla Suit to protect ,themselves and wear during storms ........



__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 07:11 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Not even sure why they went to the water heater????


So they could jump the hot and cold water lines'.
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 12:16 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 31
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I can't think of a actual NEC code that it violates (assuming they used #4) except 110.12.

Mechanical Execution of Work. Electrical equipment shall be installed in a neat and workmanlike manner.

Make sure you are home for the inspection, and make sure the inspector sees what is laying on your roof.
Just spoke with the inspector. He says he can't get them on this because there is no standard for 110.12. So, basically its time to work with the contractor directly, and see if they will fix it.
archsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 12:23 PM   #14
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,450
Default

Grounding wire on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by archsteve View Post
Just spoke with the inspector. He says he can't get them on this because there is no standard for 110.12. So, basically its time to work with the contractor directly, and see if they will fix it.
I concur with the inspector. I don't think this installation is an electrical code violation. It is pretty lame and hacky though, and I would not pay a contractor for that kind of work. It creates the potential for roof leaks down the road, unnecessarily. Any roof penetration which is not absolutely required should be avoided.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 12:53 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,233
Default

Grounding wire on roof


I'd next try the building Dept, then the fire dept. i'm sure the fire chief would like to know about a trip hazard when his guys have to go up there if there was ever a fire.

If you can't tell, I disagree with your inspector.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 10-24-2013 at 12:56 PM.
k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-24-2013), plummen (10-24-2013)
Reply

Tags
electric, ground


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom Fan and no grounding wire majch Electrical 1 09-03-2012 12:55 PM
yet another 3 wire range hookup question - grounding receptacle plate/box? rkg Electrical 7 04-03-2012 01:02 AM
grounding wire marty56 Electrical 9 01-14-2012 11:18 AM
rubber roof over tar & thoughts on quote wfmrules3 Roofing/Siding 13 10-16-2011 09:00 PM
Need opinion on this roof profenx Roofing/Siding 14 10-12-2010 12:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.