Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 01:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Share |
Default

grounding wire


What wire is this going to meter.Looks as if its a grounding wire since the cable is linked to it also before going in ground.grounding wire-imag0121.jpg

grounding wire-imag0122.jpg

grounding wire-imag0120.jpg

hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,835
Default

grounding wire


Yes that's the ground.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

grounding wire


thanks. so i wont need a grounding rod there?
i also noticed no bonding screw in panel ,only a #6 silver rod going to the copper pipe,but its over 25 feet from box.Just trying to confirm proper grounding.grounding wire-imag0116.jpg

grounding wire-imag0114.jpg

Last edited by hidden1; 11-04-2012 at 03:07 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:28 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

grounding wire


This may help ..

250.64 Grounding Electrode Conductor Installation.
(A) Aluminum Grounding Electrode Conductor. Aluminum grounding electrode conductors cannot be in contact with earth, masonry, or subjected to corrosive conditions. When used outdoors, the termination to the electrode must not be within 18 in. of earth.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

grounding wire


What does it say on bonding screw and also grounding the the box ?
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:24 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

grounding wire


If the panel your showing is your 'service equipment' ... ie... the panel that contains the 1st means to disconnect all power from your home then a bonding screw is required. The bonding screw bonds the metal enclosure to the grounded conductor (utility neutral) and by doing so it brings that enclosure to the same potential as all the other 'bonded metal' and also the enclosure becomes part of the effective fault path so a circuit breaker will trip on ground fault.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:27 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

grounding wire


Is this square D pic how it should be applied(bonded) in panel ?grounding wire-bond-pic.jpg
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:46 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

grounding wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
Is this square D pic how it should be applied(bonded) in panel ?Attachment 60132
Hidden.,

That photo you posted that is not legit set up due there are few issue with that one.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my Firex hard wire smoke alarms have no grounding amakarevic Electrical 11 01-14-2012 08:25 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
Main grounding electrode wire to panel rovers1973 Electrical 4 03-18-2010 06:18 PM
romex with thin grounding wire dogbone Electrical 16 01-10-2009 08:40 PM
Grounding conduit instead of using a ground wire? stringtheories Electrical 10 08-02-2008 12:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.