Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2009, 07:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Grounding - Tie-in Question


Hey everyone, I need some help. I have two outlets in my kitchen cabinets that are about 1 foot apart, and one is grounded, one is not. Both outlets have three wires, black, whtie, and green, it's just the voltage checker said the right outlet (Outlet #2) is not grounded. The two outlets are on different circuits (I had to turn off different breakers at the main panel).
So, I'm hoping I can pig-tail in a 14-gauge wire from the grounded Outlet #1 to the Outlet #2, with the new grounding wire hanging between the wall and cabinet.
Will this create proper grounding to the ungrounded outlet, and will it be safe and/or to code? It won't be a problem with the two outlets being on different circuits, correct? The two pictures show what I'm talking about.

Thanks in advance,
Kyle
Attached Thumbnails
Grounding - Tie-in Question-elec_1.jpg   Grounding - Tie-in Question-elec_2.jpg  

kyletke320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:14 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Grounding - Tie-in Question


I would trace outlet # 2 back and find out where the problem is.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Grounding - Tie-in Question


Insted of cobbling it together, try find out where the problem is.

I would first test it with another tester, not the plug in kind. One lead to black, one lead to ground = 120V

The green wire come from somewhere. Open a few close jboxes,receps,switches on that circuit and find out where it has become disconnected.


Quote:
Will this create proper grounding to the ungrounded outlet, and will it be safe and/or to code?

Proper is a relative term.

Safe, yeah.

Code compliant, no.

At least attempt to repair it properly.

Last edited by 220/221; 09-01-2009 at 07:19 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:23 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Grounding - Tie-in Question


I'll third the sentiment.

Do it right and find the problem.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Grounding - Tie-in Question


I'll see if I can. The house was built in 1958, so I don't know if the wiring was correct when we moved in. Second, we remodeled the kitchen, and had a contractor install the cabinets and move some outlets around, including the two in question. So either he didn't hook something up correctly, something came loose somewhere else, or that circuit was never grounded.
So I guess ultimately what I'm hearing is to get an electrician to check/fix the wiring to do it the right way.
kyletke320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Grounding - Tie-in Question


Quote:
So either he didn't hook something up correctly, something came loose somewhere else, or that circuit was never grounded.

He very likely extended an ungrounded circuit.




Quote:
So I guess ultimately what I'm hearing is to get an electrician to check/fix the wiring to do it the right way.
Not really.

Stealing a ground from the other recep isn't a deadly sin.

Another option would be to replace the ungrounded recep with a GFCI recep and it will be all good and legal.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 pin dryer to 3 pin (grounding question)? nadazip Electrical 6 07-06-2009 10:00 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 05:48 PM
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 08:25 AM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 04:11 PM
Another Dumb question - Self grounding outlets robertmee Electrical 9 10-25-2007 01:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.