Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2008, 01:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

grounding switches in old work plastic two gang box


I have a two gang old work plastic switchbox inside my home's front door. One switch in that box is unipole and drives porch light. Second switch (let's call second switch "foyer light switch") in the 2 gang box is one of three switches in the home where the foyer light can be controlled (two other switches are on second floor in two separate locations). I just replaced the foyer light switch near the front door with a dimmer, and it works great. OK..question is almost here.... Like a newbie (which I am) I did not pay scrupulous attention b4 I started as to whether the ground wire in that two gang by the front door was connected only to one of the switches or was connected to both of the switches. As I write, ground wire is connected to the dimmer switch (only). The ground wire attached to the dimmer arrives at the dimmer through a hole in the plastic cap that sits on a twisted bundle of ground wires. The unipole switch driving the front door light has no ground hooked to it. Question - Do I need to ground the second switch...and if so, how should I do that ? thx

wkend2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 02:13 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

grounding switches in old work plastic two gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by wkend2 View Post
I have a two gang old work plastic switchbox inside my home's front door. One switch in that box is unipole and drives porch light. Second switch (let's call second switch "foyer light switch") in the 2 gang box is one of three switches in the home where the foyer light can be controlled (two other switches are on second floor in two separate locations). I just replaced the foyer light switch near the front door with a dimmer, and it works great. OK..question is almost here.... Like a newbie (which I am) I did not pay scrupulous attention b4 I started as to whether the ground wire in that two gang by the front door was connected only to one of the switches or was connected to both of the switches. As I write, ground wire is connected to the dimmer switch (only). The ground wire attached to the dimmer arrives at the dimmer through a hole in the plastic cap that sits on a twisted bundle of ground wires. The unipole switch driving the front door light has no ground hooked to it. Question - Do I need to ground the second switch...and if so, how should I do that ? thx
You should take the ground to the dimmer and twist two tails onto it with a wirenut. One for the dimmer, one for the single pole.

InPhase277

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 02:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

grounding switches in old work plastic two gang box


thanks InPhase277. I appreciate the quick reply
wkend2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 01:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,968
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

grounding switches in old work plastic two gang box


Little trick if you have another wire nut (cap) with a hole in the small end, and the ground wire end that went to the dimmer is long enough.

Slide the new wire nut down the ground wire and use it to hold one tail (pigtail, additional short length of bare wire), and now you have two ground wire ends for the dimmer switch and other switch respectively.

Don't undo the first wire nut with the hole and covering the first twisted group of ground wires.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM
Toggle switches: With or without grounding screw? Marekus Electrical 3 11-27-2006 04:48 PM
wiring switches in 3 gang box bobo Electrical 2 02-20-2006 11:13 AM
Plastic "Old Work" wall box - Grounding Screws? strohs19 Electrical 4 01-14-2006 07:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.