Grounding Subpanel Via 10-700(3)(b) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2010, 09:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding Subpanel via 10-700(3)(b)


I am wiring my detached garage and am installing a subpanel in the garage fed from my main panel.

I have dug a trench from my house to my garage that is at minimum 24" deep. The trench is about 40' long.

What I am wondering is if I need to install a ground rod, or can I use rule 10-700(3)(b) and simply bury a #4 copper line for at least 20 feet in this trench to achieve proper grounding?

I should note that I am not running my feeder cable in conduit. I am using direct burial with an NMWU cable.

Thanks

Advertisement

tjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 09:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Grounding Subpanel via 10-700(3)(b)


Where are you located ?
I put 2 ground rods out at my shed
If you can't pound them into the ground then laying them in a trench is accepted
Just wire is not code as far as I know

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 11:22 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Grounding Subpanel via 10-700(3)(b)


If you ran a ground from the house to the garage then I don't believe you need a separate ground rod at your detached garage unless it is used to house animals.
See section 10-208 (b)
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 11:25 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Grounding Subpanel via 10-700(3)(b)


I second joed, that is how I have always read the rule on that.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 02:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding Subpanel via 10-700(3)(b)


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
If you ran a ground from the house to the garage then I don't believe you need a separate ground rod at your detached garage unless it is used to house animals.
See section 10-208 (b)
Does the ground in the the cable (1 red, 1 black, 1 white and 1 ground) count for this?
tjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 03:31 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Grounding Subpanel via 10-700(3)(b)


Thats how I read the rule, if your getting this inspected(which you are suppose to do) ask the inspector what he wants to see.

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ground rod , grounding , subpanel grounding


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding a Subpanel Craigman Electrical 25 12-07-2009 08:25 PM
Adding second grounding bar to subpanel rdy2go Electrical 11 09-13-2009 08:59 PM
Subpanel grounding CAUTIOUSHOMEOWNER Electrical 30 12-02-2008 05:08 PM
Grounding electrode at subpanel Randell Tarin Electrical 18 02-01-2008 10:05 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts