Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2011, 07:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


My read of the NEC is that sub-panels should never have the neutral and ground bonded together. I also understand that separate structures require their own grounding rod. So, here's my issue:

We have a pool-house roughly 100' from the main house. I have already run 1.5" grey PVC electrical conduit in a 125' trench containing four 6 gauge conductors with the intent of setting up a sub-panel. I believe based on the wire gauge and temperature ratings, I can use a 60 or 65A 2P breaker for this run to a main-lug sub-panel with separate grounding and neutral terminal strips. The issue I don't understand is do I really need to use a grounding rod at the pool house? If so, do I connect it into the grounding bar of the sub-panel? Do I still need to bring ground in from the main panel's grounding bar, or do I not need to use the 6 ga ground wire I have in the conduit? My sense is that even with a separate ground rod at the pool house, it would be best to connect the two grounding rods together with that 6 ga wire. I really don't understand the purpose of having a separate grounding rod at the pool house.

Thanks for any and all info.

CraigMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:18 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Detached structure requires a ground rod. #6 neutral has to be white entire length. 60a on #6 unless all terminations are 75C. Ground rod connects to the ground bar at subpanel along with ground wire from main panel.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
CraigMW (08-18-2011)
Old 08-18-2011, 07:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Wow, that was quick! Thanks for the info.
CraigMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:24 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigMW
Wow, that was quick! Thanks for the info.
Welcome!
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


BTW, regarding "60a on #6 unless all terminations are 75C";
Does this mean that if terminators are 75C or above, that I can go with higher ampacity breaker?

Also, the four wires in the conduit are red and black (for each side of 220V), white (neutral) and green (ground).
CraigMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:29 PM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigMW
BTW, regarding "60a on #6 unless all terminations are 75C";
Does this mean that if terminators are 75C or above, that I can go with higher ampacity breaker?

Also, the four wires in the conduit are red and black (for each side of 220V), white (neutral) and green (ground).
If all terminals are 75C then the higher ampacity can be used. Colors are good also.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:53 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigMW View Post
My read of the NEC is that sub-panels should never have the neutral and ground bonded together. I also understand that separate structures require their own grounding rod. So, here's my issue:

We have a pool-house roughly 100' from the main house. I have already run 1.5" grey PVC electrical conduit in a 125' trench containing four 6 gauge conductors with the intent of setting up a sub-panel. I believe based on the wire gauge and temperature ratings, I can use a 60 or 65A 2P breaker for this run to a main-lug sub-panel with separate grounding and neutral terminal strips. The issue I don't understand is do I really need to use a grounding rod at the pool house? If so, do I connect it into the grounding bar of the sub-panel? Do I still need to bring ground in from the main panel's grounding bar, or do I not need to use the 6 ga ground wire I have in the conduit? My sense is that even with a separate ground rod at the pool house, it would be best to connect the two grounding rods together with that 6 ga wire. I really don't understand the purpose of having a separate grounding rod at the pool house.

Thanks for any and all info.
Seperate structure requires a min disconnect.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 08:31 PM   #8
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
Seperate structure requires a min disconnect.
What about six motions of the hand?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 08:55 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
What about six motions of the hand?
Doin the hand jive?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:03 PM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port

Doin the hand jive?
Baby. Lol
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 12:22 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Seperate structure requires a min disconnect.
I'm not sure if I follow. Do you mean that the sub-panel requires a main breaker and not main lug? Or alternatively, that the lines coming into the sub-panel require a switch? I thought the breaker in the main panel would cover this?
CraigMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:19 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigMW View Post
I'm not sure if I follow. Do you mean that the sub-panel requires a main breaker and not main lug? Or alternatively, that the lines coming into the sub-panel require a switch? I thought the breaker in the main panel would cover this?
You need to be able to shut off all power to the structure with 6 or fewer motions of the hand. If your panel will have more than 6 circuits then the panel needs a main breaker.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 10:08 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding sub-panel at pool house


Okay, that makes sense.

CraigMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird wiring in house fdmillion Electrical 13 06-14-2013 06:49 PM
bonding and grounding of pool pump/motor gpike19 Electrical 2 07-22-2011 12:18 PM
Splitting your input before your house panel? Jim Johnstone Electrical 22 04-09-2011 11:23 AM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
sub panel grounding jprince Electrical 2 05-04-2009 06:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.