Grounding Rods For Tv Antennas - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2011, 09:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding rods for tv antennas


My question involves grounding rods and how to use them. My coax is coming down on the north side of my house, so I need to install a grounding block there. I was thinking of bringing the ground from the antenna down there as well and attaching them both to a new grounding rod. Then I would need to run another wire from this new grounding rod, to the grounding rod for the entire house electrical system...at least according to other threads that I've read on here and elsewhere. That other grounding rod is around the corner on the east side of my house and is about 37 feet away from where I would be installing the new one. Anyway, my question is, does that wire that's connecting the two grounding rods need to be buried? If so, how deep?

Advertisement

Wasatch Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 05:51 AM   #2
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Grounding rods for tv antennas


You can bury the ground wire. keep it right next to the foundation.
When you bring it up, install an interbonding block. The grounds get connected to the block.

Advertisement

NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:47 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,977
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Grounding rods for tv antennas


If it is up against the foundation, there is no minimum depth. The significance of burying it at least a foot deep is to prevent accidental damage from/to rototillers, etc.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:22 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding rods for tv antennas


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
When you bring it up, install an interbonding block. The grounds get connected to the block.
Would I put that block next to the grounding rod for the whole house, or the grounding rod for the antenna (which is around the corner from the one for the whole house)? Or does it matter?
Wasatch Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:23 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding rods for tv antennas


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
If it is up against the foundation, there is no minimum depth. The significance of burying it at least a foot deep is to prevent accidental damage from/to rototillers, etc.
Someone told me I could also attach it to the structure. I'm not sure which would be better.
Wasatch Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding rods for spas scottyweis Electrical 60 09-15-2014 10:26 PM
grounding electrode conductor question bsperr Electrical 8 12-05-2009 10:23 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts