Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-29-2009, 10:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: OP, KS
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding question


Anyone know whether GFCI outlets located in a bathroom & basement (for washing machine hookup) are required to be grounded? Location is KC, MO if that matters.

TIA

ChetP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 11:06 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Grounding question


Your baths' receptacles must be GFCI protected.

Dedicated receptacles in unfinished basements probably won't be required to be GFCI, but using one receptacle of a duplex receptacle device doesn't constitute dedicated. I'd suggest contacting KCMO codes department directly to get their stance.

Any new wiring work will certainly require a ground.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 11:20 AM   #3
Remodeler
 
adpanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Grounding question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChetP View Post
Anyone know whether GFCI outlets located in a bathroom & basement (for washing machine hookup) are required to be grounded?
I believe EVERY outlet is required to be grounded, regardless of type of outlet or its location. In theory, I think the GFCI is supposed to trip before serious shock occurs, so the ground wouldn't be necessary. But I would assume that NEC would still require grounding because what if, in theory, the tripping mechanism in the GFCI stopped working properly without you knowing it? Then you would have to rely on the ground to protect you.
adpanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 11:24 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,130
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Grounding question


Can you explain a tad bit more what your doing?

If this is new construction or remodeling the circuit should be 20 amps. If it is a receptacle in a bathroom it needs to be gfci protected. Also if new construction or remodeling the bathroom circuit serving receptacles cannot go to the laundry which has to have it's own dedicated 20 amp branch circuit. The washer does not require gfci unless it is within 6' of a sink. If the washer is not in a laundry room as such but just plugged into a receptacle in an unfinished basement then it must be gfci.

A gfci doesn't need a ground to work properly. If the home doesn't have wiring with a ground wire then a gfci is a code compliant way to install a
3 prong grounding type receptacle due to the absense of a ground.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 01:08 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: OP, KS
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding question


We are currently selling our house, this issue came up through a home inspection. The inspector used a GFCI tester & said that these 2 GFCI outlets weren't working properly but they trip when you hit the test button. Apparently, the tester didn't set them off properly b/c the GFCI outlets aren't grounded. The washer is in an unfinished basement and is currently connected to an ungrounded GFCI. It sounds like this is code compliant & we shouldn't have to fix. The problem is the inspection is being done through a non-profit organization that the buyer is getting a loan from & I don't think the inspector understands any of the actual code.

Edit: Thanks for the replies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Can you explain a tad bit more what your doing?

If this is new construction or remodeling the circuit should be 20 amps. If it is a receptacle in a bathroom it needs to be gfci protected. Also if new construction or remodeling the bathroom circuit serving receptacles cannot go to the laundry which has to have it's own dedicated 20 amp branch circuit. The washer does not require gfci unless it is within 6' of a sink. If the washer is not in a laundry room as such but just plugged into a receptacle in an unfinished basement then it must be gfci.

A gfci doesn't need a ground to work properly. If the home doesn't have wiring with a ground wire then a gfci is a code compliant way to install a
3 prong grounding type receptacle due to the absense of a ground.
ChetP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 01:57 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,130
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Grounding question


Chet

The inspector needs to study up a bit. A receptacle tester will not trip the gfci if a ground is not present. The tester needs the ground to work (I can explain if necessary) but the gfci doesn't. The proper way to test the actual gfci is to use the test button. The tester is primarily reserved for testing downstream outlets that are protected by the gfci but without a ground they will not work.
Again if the gfci trips by pushing the test button you are fine.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 07-29-2009 at 02:02 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 02:08 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChetP View Post
Anyone know whether GFCI outlets located in a bathroom & basement (for washing machine hookup) are required to be grounded? Location is KC, MO if that matters.

TIA
Check out this link on GFCI

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 08-02-2009 at 12:08 PM. Reason: removed link
tonyf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 05:27 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: OP, KS
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding question


Thanks everyone for the replies, we went ahead & had some grounds run to the outlets to get this taken care of so we can go ahead & get this sucka sold.
ChetP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 06:35 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Grounding question


Quote:
we went ahead & had some grounds run to the outlets to get this taken care of so we can go ahead & get this sucka sold.

You likely created code violations by doing this

Nothing dangerous but it's still funny because nothing was wrong to begin with.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 pin dryer to 3 pin (grounding question)? nadazip Electrical 6 07-06-2009 11:00 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 06:48 PM
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 09:25 AM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
Another Dumb question - Self grounding outlets robertmee Electrical 9 10-25-2007 02:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.