Grounding Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2008, 11:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding Question


Sorry i posted this to and old thread earlier by mistake but I have a situation where there is a open ground somewhere and all 4 outlets in a back bedroom are not grounded so i check all of them and cant see a problem so I put in a GFI outlet on the first one - I think anyway and it wont trip with my tester but where the gfi outlet is a privous H/O punched thru the wall to exterior to add an outside out let and its about 4feet to the metal water main So i ran a piece of wire over to it and clamp it on and pigtailed it to the existing ground and the GFI works and protecting all the other three outlets ? my question is would that be exceptable? and the outside outlet is in a metal switch box for exterior use can i simple drill a hole thru it and run the wire out to the water main and clamp it ? and what size copper wire would work ? its on a 15 amp circuit with 14 gauge wire now ?

Advertisement

MWHITLEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:17 AM   #2
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Grounding Question


A GFI will still trip with out a ground.

Will it trip if you hit the test button?

Advertisement

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 09:39 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding Question


No ? Only if its grounded ? and it wont reset if its not grounded - it a smart loc gfi from leviton if it makes any dif
MWHITLEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:18 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Grounding Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by MWHITLEY View Post
No ? Only if its grounded ? and it wont reset if its not grounded - it a smart loc gfi from leviton if it makes any dif
The presence of a ground makes no difference to the GFCI. Sounds like you may be feeding it on the load side. Check you connections against the directions that came with the GFCI.

Jeff
ElectricianJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Grounding Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricianJeff View Post
The presence of a ground makes no difference to the GFCI. Sounds like you may be feeding it on the load side. Check you connections against the directions that came with the GFCI.

Jeff
Just wanted to add that if you are checking the GFCI with a tester than that is your problem. I don't own one but I believe they use the ground to imbalance and pop the gfi. Gfi's should only be checked with the test button provided on the device.

Also, running a seperate ground from a water pipe is not code. If the GFI is properly wired then you are good to go. Identify the downstream receps. with the "No equipment Ground" stickers provided and call it a day.

Jeff
ElectricianJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:08 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Grounding Question


The water pipe ground is not acceptable. Find the open ground and repair it. Or call in an electrician to find it for you. Mickey Mouse wiring can hurt someone. Please do it correctly.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 01:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Grounding Question


Quote:
Find the open ground and repair it. Or call in an electrician to find it for you.

Yeah....what he said.


It is generally EASIER to fix something right than it is to cobble it. I see it just about every single day and I cuss every single time. .

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 09:25 AM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
Another Dumb question - Self grounding outlets robertmee Electrical 9 10-25-2007 02:49 PM
grounding to water pipe question eastvantrading Electrical 6 12-20-2006 10:49 AM
Question on Grounding ayudi General DIY Discussions 2 12-11-2006 05:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts