Grounding A Plug - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2011, 12:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

grounding a plug


can i ground a receptacle if it does not have a grounding conductor by attaching a jumper from the neutral of the plug to the ground screw ?

Advertisement

junction box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:33 AM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

grounding a plug


No NO! thats very dangerous, we call it a bootleg ground. It will give the illusion of a ground but will not provide any of the benefits of a grounded system.

The quick and easy way to fix this problem is to install a GFI.

Advertisement

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 08:43 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

grounding a plug


It is perfectly okay to run a makeshift ground wire from the receptacle, roughly (for example exposed along baseboards) following the route of the wiring and back to the panel.

If this ground wire reaches the grounding electrode conductor (the fat bare wire from the panel to a ground rod or water pipe) first, it may stop there.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving Electric Range Plug dmartins Electrical 3 11-23-2010 08:48 AM
Replacement plug for an old box freezer brich Electrical 1 05-11-2010 07:44 AM
removed old romex (added new wire) and added a plug doesn't work now? Limit54 Electrical 9 11-08-2009 10:03 PM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 10:49 AM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts