Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2013, 10:25 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Share |
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana56 View Post
Bonding bushings or locknuts mite be required too if the box has concentric knockouts just another nice opinion )
Code reference?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:29 PM   #17
Member
 
Dana56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz

Code reference?
Inspectors sometimes require it i know for me they have and why argue just do it it dont take much to go a little bit above and beyond in the workplace
Dana56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:30 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana56 View Post
Inspectors sometimes require it i know for me they have and why argue just do it it dont take much to go a little bit above and beyond in the workplace
Because in a residential application it is not necessary (<250V).
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:35 PM   #19
Member
 
Dana56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz

Because in a residential application it is not necessary (<250V).
Yes i guess so i dont do any residential at all im just in a commercial state of mind.. Only residential i did was my own new house and its wired like a commercial building lol
Dana56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 11:52 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Grounding pigtails


When ever I run conduit, I always pull a ground where the circuit will be feeding outlets (especially in a garage). If it's just lighting, then I don't pull a separate ground and just use the conduit. I don't think it's that much extra work to ground the device and bond to the box at the same time, but that's how I've always done it so its not a big deal for me.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theatretch85 For This Useful Post:
Dana56 (04-19-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 05:29 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 135
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana56 View Post
Always pigtail grounds to box and device no matter what it dont take much and its good practice. Dont think anybody relies on conduit as ground anymore, u always pull a ground in pipe
YOU may not use conduit for a grounding path, but it is quite common in industry to do so. A correctly installed conduit system is extremely effective. My home is wired in NM, so it's ground wires all over. But if it had been in conduit.......?

Blanket statements like that are misleading.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to al_smelter For This Useful Post:
Dana56 (04-19-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 06:01 AM   #22
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 463
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Note that only applies to surface mounted boxes and certain covers. Flush mount needs both to be bonded together.
That's true for receptacles, but not for snap switches. Any snap switch attached to a metal box with metal screws is considered grounded.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 06:04 AM   #23
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana56 View Post
Bonding bushings or locknuts mite be required too if the box has concentric knockouts just another nice opinion )
No, they wouldn't....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 07:51 AM   #24
Member
 
Dana56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

No, they wouldn't....
No they wouldnt only for 277/480 correct
Dana56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 07:57 AM   #25
Member
 
Dana56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by al_smelter

YOU may not use conduit for a grounding path, but it is quite common in industry to do so. A correctly installed conduit system is extremely effective. My home is wired in NM, so it's ground wires all over. But if it had been in conduit.......?

Blanket statements like that are misleading.
It used to be common but not so mich anymore, sure its acceptable but most new installations call for an EGC to be pulled in conduits not just feeders. Not a blanket statement its the truth
Dana56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 08:19 AM   #26
Member
 
Dana56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Default

Grounding pigtails


Feel like we are preparing to take a written test sheesh...
Dana56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:07 PM   #27
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana56 View Post
It used to be common but not so mich anymore, sure its acceptable but most new installations call for an EGC to be pulled in conduits not just feeders. Not a blanket statement its the truth
That might be covered in the jobs specs, but it is not in the NEC. The NEC still considers metallic conduit a suitable ground.

Your experiences and preferences are above what is required.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:35 PM   #28
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,531
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana56 View Post
It used to be common but not so mich anymore, sure its acceptable but most new installations call for an EGC to be pulled in conduits not just feeders. Not a blanket statement its the truth
On typical commercial jobs (office, retail, highrise) here in Phoenix, I never ran across a spec requiring EGCs for all circuits in conduit. It was only done where there was a specific reason for it, like where FMC was used for movement joints, or where there was a PVC underground section in a run.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:43 PM   #29
Member
 
Dana56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton

On typical commercial jobs (office, retail, highrise) here in Phoenix, I never ran across a spec requiring EGCs for all circuits in conduit. It was only done where there was a specific reason for it, like where FMC was used for movement joints, or where there was a PVC underground section in a run.
Really? Here in jersey its noted all the time to pull ground...had a friend grab a
Pipe that became energized hot hurt bad.. Thats why a ground shouldb pulledwhether required or not
Dana56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:44 PM   #30
Member
 
Dana56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Default

Grounding pigtails


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton

On typical commercial jobs (office, retail, highrise) here in Phoenix, I never ran across a spec requiring EGCs for all circuits in conduit. It was only done where there was a specific reason for it, like where FMC was used for movement joints, or where there was a PVC underground section in a run.
Not for all circuits by the way just one ground

Dana56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2-2-4 SEU - Smaller Neutral? BRT Electrical 18 09-23-2012 09:25 PM
Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home panorama Electrical 42 09-14-2012 09:35 AM
Bare grounding pigtails? smata67 Electrical 2 05-27-2012 07:27 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.