Grounding Panel At Barn - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2010, 07:25 AM   #1
EWW
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding Panel at Barn


Ok, let me start by saying I have asked 3 different electricians and got 3 different answers.

I Am running electric to my barn, I have a 325 amp meter I have double lugs 1 branch is going to the house 200 amps and on the other I have run to my main disconnect to the barn. this is where I get confused, I have 3 wires from the Meter 2 hots and a common running to the disconnect from the meter, I have 4 wires rumnning to the barn from the disconnet do I bond the ground and common at the diconnect? In other words connect the green wire (that is running to the barn) to the disconnect box ground and install the bonding screw? Then at the panel in the barn connect that green wire to a separate ground bar that connects to a earth ground rod? My panel at the barn has 2 bars that are connected, so I bleieve I have to buy a grounding bar kit and intall for the Earth grond and ground wire running from disconnect. And I do not bond them at that panel. thanks for any help, I am just a hands on type person and have received conflicting information that is confuseing me. More info this is 100 amps and about 80' from the meter to the barn.

Advertisement

EWW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:53 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,385
Rewards Points: 3,564
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Grounding Panel at Barn


Bond the ground and neutral at the first disconnect. I think you need ground rods here.
Do not bond them at the barn. Install ground rods at the barn.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 11:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Grounding Panel at Barn


When power comes into first panel N (White) and G (green) land on the ground block, on the 2nd. panel the N block has to be isolated from touching the panel. I believe it is so electricity can't flow in a circle so you will need an isolated N block with insulator under it and a ground block to the box. N and G have to be seperate in 2nd panel. I'm not sure if you need a ground rod at the barn, I don't think so.

Last edited by jerzeedivr; 12-23-2010 at 11:36 AM.
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:12 PM   #4
EWW
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding Panel at Barn


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerzeedivr View Post
When power comes into first panel N (White) and G (green) land on the ground block, on the 2nd. panel the N block has to be isolated from touching the panel. I believe it is so electricity can't flow in a circle so you will need an isolated N block with insulator under it and a ground block to the box. N and G have to be seperate in 2nd panel. I'm not sure if you need a ground rod at the barn, I don't think so.

I have 2 hots and a Common coming from the Meter to the disconnect, and 2 hots, a common, and a ground from the Disconnect to the panel in the barn. Where do you terminate the Green Ground at that goes to the Panel in the Barn and where does it terminate in the Disconnect? I am confused because some have told me that I do not need the green ground between the disconnect and the barn. I understand that I should not bond the ground and common at he barn but would that Green ground wire that runs between the barn and disconnect be bonded at the disconnect and then a seperate ground at the barn panel? Sorry I am just confused because of the differnet responses I have received form electricians locally.
EWW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:15 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,385
Rewards Points: 3,564
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Grounding Panel at Barn


Bond the ground and neutral at the first disconnect. I think you need ground rods here.
Do not bond them at the barn. Install ground rods at the barn.

Add a gropund bar to the p anel inthe barn. Terminate your ground on the new bar. DO NOT use the green bonding screw to bond the neutral to the panel.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
panel in barn MeanGene Electrical 1 11-01-2010 06:10 PM
Sub panel wiring & grounding kwcamaro Electrical 1 03-06-2010 08:58 AM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 04:35 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
Sub Panel Grounding bar bmancanfly Electrical 12 05-24-2009 03:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts