Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-15-2010, 01:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Grounding my outlets

Let me start by saying I am not familiar with all the lingo and technical terms I have been seeing on here.

I just bought a home and am slowly figuring out the basics.

Right now, my primary focus is on the wiring. It's a mid 50's home, and I dont know the complete history of what has been done with the wiring. What I do know is there is no ground wire in my outlets, and because I am a musician, i need to get the outlets grounded in my music room to eliminate hum.

I replaced one of the two pronged outlets with a three prong, hoping I would find a ground wire in there, but I did not. There were two wires, one black (which is the hot one) and one white. All I can tell you about the wire other than the color is that it was very stiff, and a lot of it was packed pretty tightly in the box.

I had a guy tell me if my "cable" had a metal casing I could use a self grounding outlet. He also said i could use a green jumper if I didnt have that kind of cable.

so...

1.) what is the "Cable" and where do i find it?

2.) What is the basic philosophy for installing the Self grounding outlets?

3.) What is a green jumper and how is it installed?

Assume I know nothing! Help!

Mwatford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 01:22 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,026

Grounding my outlets

The various outlets and also light switches are daisy chained together with hot and neutral wires almost always bundled into cables. The most modern cables have 3 wires, hot, neutral, and ground, and are plastic sheathed. Only a small amount of the cable sheath can be seen inside the outlet box at the back.

A metal cable casing, if any, particularly if it is a flexible spiral, might not be that great a ground.