Grounding Multi-circuits In Multi-gang Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2012, 01:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Grounding multi-circuits in multi-gang box


Are the grounding conductors to remain separate for each circuit within a multi-gang box (plastic) to avoid creating ground loops? Or grounding conductors should all be tied together within any enclosure regardless of whether they serve separate circuits, and despite being tied together at the ground bar in the service panel?

Advertisement

sixspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Grounding multi-circuits in multi-gang box


All of the ground wires are tied together. With additional short lengths (pigtails) to devices (switches, receptacles) in the box and to the box itself if metal.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
sixspeed (07-25-2012)
Old 07-24-2012, 06:11 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Grounding multi-circuits in multi-gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by sixspeed View Post
Are the grounding conductors to remain separate for each circuit within a multi-gang box (plastic) to avoid creating ground loops? Or grounding conductors should all be tied together within any enclosure regardless of whether they serve separate circuits, and despite being tied together at the ground bar in the service panel?
That is NOT how ground loops are formed... And you need to splice all the grounding conductors together and bond the devices.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel Grounding bar bmancanfly Electrical 12 05-24-2009 03:07 PM
Grounding for different circuits in the same box? epeterson777 Electrical 23 03-19-2009 09:04 PM
Grounding circuits in barn businmike Electrical 2 06-01-2008 10:22 AM
Range Outlet Receptical Wiring - PICS nave Electrical 45 05-29-2008 07:37 PM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 06:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts