Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2009, 09:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Share |
Default

Grounding Method


Hey guys,

I've come across some metal 4x4 boxes that were fastened to concrete or steel. These boxes weren't grounded so I wanted to attach a grounding pigtail using the tapped hole in the back of the box. If I install the grounding screw it hits the concrete or steel almost immediately and the wire is not tight to the box.

What do you guys do when you come across this?

These are some of the things I've done:

1. Mark the hole and remove the box and drill a hole for the grounding screw to fit into then reinstall box
2. Install a different box (one with the raised threaded hole)
3. Use grounding clip that attaches to the front edge of the box

Sometimes these things are easier to do than at other times depending on the conduit/box layout.

Is it acceptable to shorten the grounding screw with the screw cutting function of my wire strippers then install the grounding pigtail?

Steelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 09:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Grounding Method


Grounding clip. Works great. Its the green thing in my last thread.

Not sure about the screw, Im sure it wouldn't hurt anything, but it does void the ul rating.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 09:59 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Grounding Method


I cut the screw flush with the box.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 08:03 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Grounding Method


Grounding clip.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 10:06 AM   #5
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Grounding Method


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Not sure about the screw, Im sure it wouldn't hurt anything, but it does void the ul rating.
There are no such thing as UL listed ground screws. We went through this in another thread.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 10:12 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Grounding Method


Washers?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 11:06 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Grounding Method


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
There are no such thing as UL listed ground screws. We went through this in another thread.

Come to think of it, there is no rating.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding for new meter at detached garage steve37887 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 02:17 PM
Grounding light box n0c7 Electrical 10 10-06-2008 03:20 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 07:31 AM
Grounding electrode at subpanel Randell Tarin Electrical 18 02-01-2008 09:05 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.