Grounding Metal Junction Boxes - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2012, 05:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

grounding metal junction boxes


Hello all,

I've been looking through the forum here and am a bit confused.

Are all metal junction boxes to always be grounded, with, or without a fixture attached? What if there are multiple circuits in that box?

There are metal boxes in the basement being used for splices.

Some have contain only one circuit and used simply for "distribution." These should definitely have a pigtail ground to the box itself, correct? This part I think I understand.

But, over near the new service, there are some 6" square boxes that were used to splice multiple cables to provide the length to get to the new panel. There are multiple circuits in these boxes. I've read that "all grounds in a box need to be tied together and grounded to the box" - that does apply, even though these grounds go to multiple circuits? Since the nit-wit that did this has none of them connected, and no ground connected to the boxes ... I thought I should find out for sure.

In one of those 6" boxes I'll wind up having to connect, I think, 9 12 gauge ground wires. What's the best way to connect that much copper together?

Surprisingly, all these boxes have covers. Considering everything else that is wrong ...

Thanks,
Jim

Advertisement

simanco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:40 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

grounding metal junction boxes


All metal boxes must be bonded to an EGC...

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:21 PM   #3
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 512
Default

grounding metal junction boxes


nine #12 wires will fit in a large enough wirenut, probably one of the big blue or grey ones. Check the package for the number and sizes of wires permitted.

You can also split the grounds into two smaller groups, connected together by a short piece of #12.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:22 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

grounding metal junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve View Post
nine #12 wires will fit in a large enough wirenut, probably one of the big blue or grey ones. Check the package for the number and sizes of wires permitted.
And if you can't fit nine, spilt the bundle in half and bond everything together.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 10:30 AM
HELP! Newly Installed METAL Junction Box becomes LIVE!!! bingbong26 Electrical 5 06-26-2012 06:22 AM
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 03:37 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM
plastic or metal boxes for outlet wiring? yummy mummy Building & Construction 9 12-31-2006 02:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts