Grounding Metal Boxes And Outlets - Confused By Something Simple - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2012, 09:16 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


For basement switch in EMT I grounded the box and the switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple-100_8316.jpg   Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple-100_8317.jpg  

Advertisement

hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:24 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFisher
... Now, one day, I learn why (other than the code says so) connecting the two egcs is required rather than connecting both to the box, but I leave that for another day.
There is supposed to be more secure contact between the conductors if they are twisted together and crimped or nutted than relying on the grounding screw to hold them tight as it may vibrate loose. If the screw loosens or one conductor slipped out from under the screw, continuous ground would be lost.

Same idea as not double tapping a breaker or Putting two hots on one device screw.

A conductor may be looped around a screw on its way elsewhere but if it is cut it must be properly terminated.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:20 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
For basement switch in EMT I grounded the box and the switch.
The tape around the device makes me laugh. But hey, whatever floats your boat.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:49 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
The tape around the device makes me laugh. But hey, whatever floats your boat.
Why is this funny? I have seen several folks do this in metal boxes.
ALFisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:00 PM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFisher View Post
Why is this funny? I have seen several folks do this in metal boxes.
Yeah, and its funny to come across.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:22 PM   #21
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
For basement switch in EMT I grounded the box and the switch.
I do not like using 2 connections under a ground screw, not sure it meets code. I would leave that bare ground long, wrap on the ground screw and continue to the recep.

I only use tape on a receptacle when I install a a GFCI recep. in an old (small) metal box. No reason in the 4" box you have.

I assume you are using the EMT as a sleeve and not running NM all the way.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:27 PM   #22
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Another point to the OP:

If you run the bare ground to the receptacle and try to use a self grounding receptacle to ground the box, you lose the box ground if you pull out the receptacle. Or down the road if someone changes the self grounding receptacle to a standard non- grounding, you lose the ground to the box.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:40 PM   #23
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I do not like using 2 connections under a ground screw, not sure it meets code.
It's a violation...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
rjniles (06-18-2012)
Old 06-18-2012, 05:41 PM   #24
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Another point to the OP:

If you run the bare ground to the receptacle and try to use a self grounding receptacle to ground the box, you lose the box ground if you pull out the receptacle. Or down the road if someone changes the self grounding receptacle to a standard non- grounding, you lose the ground to the box.
You can't bond the box via the device, but you can bond the device via the box... What you speak is a code violation so its a moot point.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
rjniles (06-18-2012)
Old 06-18-2012, 05:48 PM   #25
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You can't bond the box via the device, but you can bond the device via the box... What you speak is a code violation so its a moot point.
I was trying to explain the rational behind the code.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:52 PM   #26
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I was trying to explain the rational behind the code.
Why not just stick to the facts? The box must be bonded....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:55 PM   #27
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Why not just stick to the facts? The box must be bonded....
You are getting a little testy
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:57 PM   #28
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
You are getting a little testy
Absolutely not... black and white words.... no need to add emotion to that.

I was trying to keep it simple and clean...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:43 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I only use tape on a receptacle when I install a a GFCI recep. in an old (small) metal box. No reason in the 4" box you have
That piece of tape only cost a nickel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I assume you are using the EMT as a sleeve and not running NM all the way.
EMT is a sleeve for the vertical drop.

Last edited by hammerlane; 06-18-2012 at 06:49 PM.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:46 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Grounding Metal Boxes and Outlets - Confused by Something Simple


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
The tape around the device makes me laugh.
Glad you are amused.

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
But hey, whatever floats your boat.
I don't know where you fish but water typically floats mine.

Advertisement

hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sealing boxes and outlets 4just1don Electrical 1 02-01-2012 06:29 AM
Replacing old outlets (grounded vs none) Sonya_ Electrical 14 10-08-2011 12:37 AM
Grounding outlets... bigdaddyII Electrical 12 08-28-2011 03:22 PM
Upgrading 2 prong(ungrounded) outlets to 3 prong(grounded) AdamsBurr Electrical 14 06-24-2011 10:13 AM
Another Dumb question - Self grounding outlets robertmee Electrical 9 10-25-2007 02:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts