Grounding, Making Me Crazy - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-16-2008, 09:08 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Angry

grounding, making me crazy

Hi everyone new to the site. I am an hvac tech and don't do alot of installs. Did a furnace and a/c unit and the outside condenser had only two wires instead of 3, anyway the house has conduit so tried to run ground wire back to main, because thats the right way. Whats confusing me is when the old unit was installed they used the conduit as a ground, right. The panel[main] has a wire going from the conduit to the neutral buss. As a matter of fact the bare grounds also go to the neutral buss which is the ground buss also. When you put my dvm on the ground buss and conduit I get 110v, thats not right I shouldnt have voltage from the ground to conduit,right. The grounding on older houses can sure be confusing. You would think neutral would be seperate from ground, but it isnt, sorry for ranting just want to get it right and saf, thanks

Advertisement

sparky2474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 09:20 PM   #2
Electrician

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky2474 View Post