Grounding Light Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 11:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding light switches


I've been slowly going over the wiring at home and while most of the boxes have ground wires available (but not hooked up), there is one that doesn't. The box right next to it does. Can I just use wire nuts and a jumper to run the ground from one box to the other, or do each set of wires need their own separate ground?

Also, I've noticed that a few receptacles have two black wires and another dark colored one that are all presumably hot. The old backstab only receptacles I'm replacing had four slots for wires, but the receptacles that I'm replacing them with have only two nuts for sidewiring. Is there any preference for which hot wire I should terminate or does that not matter?

Advertisement


Last edited by omgwtfbyobbq; 02-26-2011 at 11:29 AM.
omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 12:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Grounding light switches


When two or three wires (including ground wires) want to go under the same screw, you cut a short length of wire (pigtail) of the same kind and color and connect just that to the screw. Then wire nut together the three or four loose ends.

Avoid using the back holes where the wire is not specifically clamped in place using another screw on the side.

The framework (yoke) of switches and receptacles needs to be grounded. Use either a green screw provided or squash the ground wire between the yoke and the box with a special clip (for doing such grounding and sold separately) in between. Metal boxes must also be grounded, either with their own ground wires or pigtails, or having a grounded switch or receptacle yoke screwed on using one of those special clips.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-26-2011 at 01:11 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 01:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding light switches


That makes sense, thanks!

Can I do the opposite (instead of a union, split a wire) to run a ground wire from one box to another a couple inches away?
omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Lights & 3 switches, doesn't look right curious1 Electrical 1 10-26-2010 11:26 PM
Several Light Switches Don't Work? Help? Scorpion6 Electrical 4 10-10-2010 10:11 PM
2x Three Way Light Switch - switches out of sync zurgdawg Electrical 9 12-18-2009 08:20 AM
New light switches keep blowing? Electricalprobs Electrical 9 08-10-2009 07:14 PM
2 switches , one light problem pepperthecat Electrical 2 07-08-2008 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts