Grounding A Gutter - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2012, 09:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

grounding a gutter


I've got a 24" wire pull gutter 20" from a sub panel. The gutter will have feeders from my main passing through it to the sub. It has a #6 ground wire passing through. There are no connections or splices in the gutter. It is just a place to pull wire and turn a corner. Can I run a #12awg green wire 20" back from the sub panel's ground bar and screw to the gutter's wall? Or do I have to tap the #6 wire as it passes through and bond it to the gutter's wall? It is effectively grounded by the EMT pipe, but I'm pulling grounds to all my subs anyway. I don't like just using pipe as my ground system.

David

Advertisement


Last edited by n175h; 02-21-2012 at 09:49 PM.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 09:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

grounding a gutter


Quote:
Originally Posted by n175h
I've got a 24" wire pull gutter 20" from a sub panel. The gutter will have feeders from my main passing through it to the sub. It has a #6 ground wire passing through. Can I run a #12awg green wire 20" back from the sub panel's ground bar and screw to the gutter's wall? Or do I have to tap the #6 wire as it passes through and bond it to the gutter's wall? It is effectively grounded by the EMT pipe, but I'm pulling grounds to all my subs anyway. I don't like just using pipe as my ground system.

David
Do as you wish it doesn't need an additional bonding means.

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (02-22-2012)
Old 02-21-2012, 10:24 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,012
Rewards Points: 2,822
Default

grounding a gutter


You could use a lay-in lug bolted to the gutter on the #6.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jbfan (02-22-2012)
Old 02-22-2012, 11:45 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

grounding a gutter


If you make no splices in the gutter there is no need to do anything but pass through the gutter. No grounding jumper is required.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
jbfan (02-22-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gutter installation questions Homerepairguy Roofing/Siding 7 03-15-2012 11:22 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 03:54 PM
Yankee gutter resurfacing options miamicuse Roofing/Siding 24 01-06-2012 09:20 AM
Grounding sub-panel at pool house CraigMW Electrical 12 08-19-2011 11:08 AM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts