Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 09:29 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

grounding to a gas line


the cable guy was out to fix my service. after he left i noticed he grounded the cable line to a gas line. is this ok???

Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:44 AM   #2
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Its NOT o.k. get him back and have move it to a water pipe

1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


No, Have them come back out and do it right. Preferably to the ground rod or ground rod conductor.

Last edited by J. V.; 10-13-2008 at 10:07 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:46 AM   #4
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Make him drive a 8' ground rod
1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Everything (electric, phone, cable TV, etc.) should be grounded to a single point of ground (the same spot).
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:39 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Everything is supposed to be bonded together, is their any way you could pull a ground there?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Everything is supposed to be bonded together, is their any way you could pull a ground there?
This is correct. It should all go back to the main bonding at the service. The ground rod is the best way to be sure it is connected to the system. The potential needs to be the same for everything grounded in the dwelling and outside the dwelling.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:06 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
Everything (electric, phone, cable TV, etc.) should be grounded to a single point of ground (the same spot).
This is not accurate. A grounding system is not restricted to one point. Many things can be bonded to any point on the GES (grounding electrode system).




Quote:
Originally Posted by 1610 CUB View Post
Its NOT o.k. get him back and have move it to a water pipe
Also, just bonding/grounding to a water pipe is not always correct or safe. Only certain portions of certain water piping systems are safe/correct to connect a ground/bond to.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 04:17 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


The home's gas piping system is required to be bonded. This can be accomplished by a bonding conductor and a clamp, but is normally accomplished via metallic connection to the HVAC system, which has an equipment grounding conductor.

The gas piping system cannot be used as a grounding electrode however, like the water line often is.

I'm not too well-versed on cable TV wiring, but I imagine the installer is connecting to the gasline in an attempt to use it as a grounding electrode (in case of lightning, etc). Although it is bonded to the grounding system via the furnace, I don't think that it is a best-case means of doing this.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 04:44 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


On a Central Grounding Point,
Google 1200 pages...
http://www.google.com/search?num=20&...22&btnG=Search
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 04:59 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
On a Central Grounding Point,
Google 1200 pages...
http://www.google.com/search?num=20&...22&btnG=Search
What's your point? Most of that is referencing electronic equipment.

There is NO "central grounding point" with regard to a building's AC wiring system.

Maybe you can point me to a more accurate description of what you are talking about, as opposed to 1200 Google hit pages.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 05:02 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post

I'm not too well-versed on cable TV wiring, but I imagine the installer is connecting to the gasline in an attempt to use it as a grounding electrode (in case of lightning, etc). Although it is bonded to the grounding system via the furnace, I don't think that it is a best-case means of doing this.

Check out art 820.40(B)(1)
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:17 PM   #13
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1610 CUB View Post
Make him drive a 8' ground rod
And then what? What does this accomplish, exactly?
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 03:49 PM   #14
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
And then what? What does this accomplish, exactly?
I generally get a good workout when doing this, so I think its healthy to drive ground rods.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 03:50 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

grounding to a gas line


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Check out art 820.40(B)(1)
As I thought, he's going at this wrong by grounding coaxial's shield to the gasline and not the grounding electrode. Thanks for the code reference. That's definately one section I've never spent much time in.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electric line and gas line couch potatoe Electrical 17 09-30-2008 10:43 PM
moving incoming power line and grounding rod amakarevic Electrical 3 07-28-2008 11:24 PM
grounding cable tv and normal phone line? russrp Electrical 15 07-05-2008 03:03 PM
power line noise sciguy125 Electrical 5 12-02-2007 01:39 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.