Grounding Dryer Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2008, 12:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

grounding dryer outlet


the dryer outlet i got only has three inlets for the hot and neutral wires of 10-3 cable. no inlet/screw for grounding, like regular ones do. i just piggytailed the ground wire around one of the receptacle braces into which the outlet gets screwed in. not sure if that was the right thing to do. do they make dryer outlets with a grounding screw ?

thanks,

- a -

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 01:16 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

grounding dryer outlet


If the dryer circuit is wired with 10/3, you must use a NEMA 14-30 receptacle/plug that accommodates both hots, neutral, and ground.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 01:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

grounding dryer outlet


is this always 4-pronged ? the cord i got for the dryer has a plug that is only 3-pronged and one prong is bent at a right angle ? i am not sure whether i will be able to just get an outlet that matches this plug but does meet the specification you gave or i will have to get both a different cord and outlet ?

on the other angle, which cable should be used with the outlet/cord combo that i did get ? the dryer works fine the way i set it up, BTW.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 01:43 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

grounding dryer outlet


You must change the dryer cord to a four prong type. If you have the manual for the dryer it should have the instructions on how to do that.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 10:05 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

grounding dryer outlet


This shows the bond strap on a range (dryer is pretty much the same) along with it removed, and a 4 wire cord installed.

http://s125.photobucket.com/albums/p...dryer%20cords/
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running AC off of a Dryer Outlet TheCrow Electrical 7 06-16-2008 08:11 PM
Grounding outlet to armored cable - fine? voltage2 Electrical 14 02-19-2008 12:03 AM
Dryer outlet adjacent to laundry/utility sink bjstewa Electrical 5 02-12-2008 09:10 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
Clothes Dryer / Outlet homercavazos Electrical 8 10-30-2007 05:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts