Grounding Cooktop Correctly - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2009, 02:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding cooktop correctly


I'm installing a new Bosch 36" Induction cooktop (I posted a rather convoluted post regarding this a few days ago). The cooktop has no 120v component so there are only two hots and a ground. Wondering how to ground this thing (and box) correctly. Can I race the ground around a screw in the j-box and connect the remaining wire to the ground on the cooktop? or should I terminate the ground from the romex in the box and then attach the ground from the appliance to the box? I afraid of creating some kind of ground-loop with such a high powered appliance (50A).

Advertisement

Booron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 02:36 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Grounding cooktop correctly


There should be a place to ground the cooktop.Did it come with a whip or is it hardwired there should be a green screw to ground to if hardwired can you post a pic of the connections ?

Advertisement

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 02:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Grounding cooktop correctly


Yeah, the cooktop has has two-hots and a ground. wondering how to ground the cooktop and the j-box correctly with just the single ground wire from the 6-2WG.
Booron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 02:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Grounding cooktop correctly


I'd almost think leaving the bare long, twisting it around the box grounding screw, then going top the cooktop would work

All #6's I've connected have landed on a breaker or connection point made for it
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 02:56 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Grounding cooktop correctly


Is this a metal j-box? if so leave the solid bare wire from the 6-2 w/gound longer than the others bond the ground wire to the metal box with the ground screw leave the extra ground so you can wire=nut it to the ground on the whip from stove.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 02:58 PM   #6
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Grounding cooktop correctly


Dave beat me to it.

Advertisement

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
Grounding Method Steelhead Electrical 6 02-05-2009 12:06 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 06:48 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts