Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2008, 05:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Grounding and bonding.


Just an idea. I am having an electrician install a 200 amp service soon. I was thinking of asking him to install a ground buss outside of the panel. Bonding it to the main ground buss bar with#4 bare, or #6 green, and using it for the phone, satellite TV, cable etc. I hate all of those wires bonded outside hanging all over the place. JUST THINKING. 250.64(C)3


Last edited by Dilligaf77; 04-02-2008 at 05:44 AM. Reason: more info
Dilligaf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 06:05 AM   #2
J Calvin Construction
 
jcalvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


The only grounding of the type I have ever seen was to the ground wire/ground rod outside. If you are wanting those to go into the house, sure they can do it. All the tv/tele installation people I have ever met were very good at using a 3/4" drill bit to go through the side of you house to run the 1/8" cable.

I suggest to ask them to leave a little extra wire on the hookups and fix them neatly yourself. Try sliding some paper behind the wire and spraying them the same color as your house.

__________________
Cal

You hired WHO?
jcalvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 06:42 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


You will have to install one when the 2008 code gets adopted. T&B has one that gets bolted to the outside of the meter pan.
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 06:47 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


That woulld be 250.94 Bonding for other systems.
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:12 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nassau, New York
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


I saw a picture of that can bracket some place. It looks cheesy as hell, and I can see them swinging it the breezes in about 2 years. Metal fatigue.

Last edited by RobertS; 04-02-2008 at 07:18 AM.
RobertS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:17 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nassau, New York
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


250.94 Thanks. I don't see how you read that book. It seems like a giant mind blowing puzzle. I read it at the library. The cable installer will find his 3/4" drill bit up his butt.

Last edited by RobertS; 04-02-2008 at 07:28 AM.
RobertS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:34 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


Yea, I know. I'm trying to find a gounding bar listed for wet location, then bolting it to the bottom of the meter pan then drill holes and bond it to the pan and system.
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 12:02 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertS View Post
I don't see how you read that book. It seems like a giant mind blowing puzzle.
We don't have a choice!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 12:57 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


Then they like to change it every three years.
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 01:17 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Grounding and bonding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp58 View Post
Yea, I know. I'm trying to find a gounding bar listed for wet location, then bolting it to the bottom of the meter pan then drill holes and bond it to the pan and system.
Ask at the supply house. Or check this link.
http://store.electrical-insulators-a...FRY3lgodsmyubg

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size for 300watt trans, 3 way 100ft Al the Diy guy Electrical 16 03-22-2008 08:46 PM
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 08:25 AM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM
grounding pole building sheet metal? borderbuster Electrical 2 07-08-2007 02:11 AM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.