Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2009, 10:48 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Grounding an above ground pool


Thanks Stubbie. I understand.

One more question, what happens when the switch is off, but the plug is still plugged in to the receptacle.............am I still protected?


Once again, thank you.


Will

wcolon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:44 PM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,969
Default

Grounding an above ground pool


The electrical branch circuit will be protected up to the switch... when it is off. If a fault occurs on the load side of the switch (motor side) as soon as you turn on the switch letting power to the motor the gfci breaker will instantly trip. Basically any current flow that is irregular to the gfci and what it expects to see on that motor branch will cause it to trip.

The gfci cannot 'see' a fault without current flow so power must be applied to the branch circuit. The gfci will react to any fault when power is being utilized or not utilized anywhere on the branch circuit if your using a gfci breaker. In other words if the switch is off and a fault is created for whatever reason at the motor or the wiring from the switch to the motor as soon as you turn that switch on the gfci is going to trip out. If a fault occurs during operation of the motor the gfci will trip. If a fault occurs between the switch and the gfci breaker with the switch off the gfci will trip.
Remember gfci breakers are combination devices the gfci part trips when very small leakages (5ma or so) of current go to ground or to a grounded leg (white wire) such as an insulation failure in the motor. They also will trip on overload or overcurrent just like any other breaker.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 06-25-2009 at 01:51 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:12 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Grounding an above ground pool


have an above ground pool. was asked to ground it or bond it. can i do this myself. pleasea advise. thanks.
derjuggernaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 02:25 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,797
Default

Grounding an above ground pool


Quote:
Originally Posted by derjuggernaut View Post
have an above ground pool. was asked to ground it or bond it. can i do this myself. pleasea advise. thanks.
No. Call an electrician familiar with pool bonding.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swimming Pool Grounding Issue Islander Electrical 20 09-02-2009 10:27 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Slab Ground pool inspection alexromu Electrical 6 08-06-2008 07:01 AM
Grounding conduit instead of using a ground wire? stringtheories Electrical 10 08-02-2008 12:42 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.