Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2010, 07:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 73
Share |
Default

grounding 2 circuits in one box


I've got a couple two gang boxes with each receptacle in a separate circuit.

I'll call them circuit 1 and circuit 2.

My read on NEC Article 250.148 is that all the bare equipment grounds should be together.

I've got grounds from line in and line out and receptacle 1 in a red wire nut, a the same with circuit 2.

I've run a length of bare line between the two wire nuts, so each nut has 4 wires and the grounds from both circuits are connected by the jumper.

Is this an approved way of connecting the grounds, or should I put 6 wires in a big ol' blue wire nut?

Any advice is appreciated.

Bill

itin1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 08:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 439
Default

grounding 2 circuits in one box


tie together .

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 08:06 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

grounding 2 circuits in one box


Either way is acceptable.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 01:27 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

grounding 2 circuits in one box


You can go either way as long you have room in the junciton box.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 09:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 73
Default

grounding 2 circuits in one box


Thanks for the affirmation guys.

All worked out well.
itin1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding from Junction Box too Main tlj Electrical 5 10-25-2009 12:48 AM
Grounding for different circuits in the same box? epeterson777 Electrical 23 03-19-2009 08:04 PM
Grounding Method Steelhead Electrical 6 02-05-2009 11:06 AM
Grounding circuits in barn businmike Electrical 2 06-01-2008 09:22 AM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.