Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 06:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

grounding


What are the requirements for grounding when connection 1 inch emt conduit to a breaker box?

bob804jac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:13 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,882
Default

grounding


It has a mechanical ground through the conduit,where is this being installed?
Certain locations require a seperate ground wire and bonding depending on use

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:16 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

grounding


Metal conduit to metal box = grounded.
IF you are pulling a ground conductor through the pipe as well...
that's belt & suspenders.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
bob804jac (01-21-2012)
Old 01-21-2012, 06:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

grounding


conduit will come directly into breaker box and will be connected to the box with compression type clamps. Does the metal rings used to tighten the conduit to the box provide a legal ground or do I need some other type of ground clamp?
bob804jac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:25 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,882
Default

grounding


Yes thats considered a mechanical ground.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

grounding


Bond or ground?

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Grounding sub-panel at pool house CraigMW Electrical 12 08-19-2011 10:08 AM
Grounding rods for tv antennas Wasatch Rebel Electrical 4 06-02-2011 07:23 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 04:34 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.