Grounding - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 07:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

grounding


What are the requirements for grounding when connection 1 inch emt conduit to a breaker box?

Advertisement

bob804jac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:13 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

grounding


It has a mechanical ground through the conduit,where is this being installed?
Certain locations require a seperate ground wire and bonding depending on use

Advertisement

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:16 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,816
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

grounding


Metal conduit to metal box = grounded.
IF you are pulling a ground conductor through the pipe as well...
that's belt & suspenders.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
bob804jac (01-21-2012)
Old 01-21-2012, 07:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

grounding


conduit will come directly into breaker box and will be connected to the box with compression type clamps. Does the metal rings used to tighten the conduit to the box provide a legal ground or do I need some other type of ground clamp?
bob804jac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:25 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

grounding


Yes thats considered a mechanical ground.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

grounding


Bond or ground?

Advertisement

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 03:54 PM
Grounding sub-panel at pool house CraigMW Electrical 12 08-19-2011 11:08 AM
Grounding rods for tv antennas Wasatch Rebel Electrical 4 06-02-2011 08:23 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts