Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2009, 04:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

Ground Wires


I'm going to add some circuits around the house. In the past, to tie together ground wires in the boxes, I've always used wire nuts, but in all the new construction I've seen the real electricians use crimps.

Is there any reason (code-wise or other) that the crimps are a better way to go? Being a tool collector, I don't mind buying the right crimp tool if that way is really superior, but is it?

Thanks...

Gary

garyoutwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 06:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,116
Default

Ground Wires


Probably time/expense, wire nuts still OK. Grounds must be tied together, grounded to the box(if metal), and connected to the ground bond on the device strap. Greenies work just fine for this, leave one long ground thru the hole.

Above all we say here, local code always rules.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 01:47 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Ground Wires


Either method is fine. Crimping is just finer.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 03:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Ground Wires


Crimping is for production work. A crimp is cheaper than a wire nut and the connection takes up a little less space in most cases as you don't have extra pigtails in there. Labor wise, not much difference.

I never use crimps. If I did production work, I would.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 10:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Ground Wires


I've always used wirenuts, although now I am going to start using green wire nuts on future products.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 11:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Ground Wires


I don't see much of a point to the green nuts. Just one extra thing to stock/carry for very little return.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 12:37 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Default

Ground Wires


I don't care for the crimps because if you have to add a circuit or whatever and you need to connect the ground its a royal pain to deal with. I think this may convince some diyers/homeowners to not connect the ground because of the trouble.
Steelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 07:10 AM   #8
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Ground Wires


crimps are used to allow more space in the box. More space more free air less heat better job. Wirenuts are allowed. BUT only green ones., Read the code Ohio. I use both. I have both at hand. And we never construct anything..especially in electrical work so that it can come apart easily. Ease of access yes... To undo a crimp simply squeeze with your Kliens across the crimped section and twist and pull. All electrical work is designed for safety not for ease of use by a DIY or HO.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 09:24 AM   #9
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Ground Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
Wirenuts are allowed. BUT only green ones., Read the code Ohio.
Then this applies to ohio only, and even then I find it suspect.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 10:25 AM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Ground Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Then this applies to ohio only, and even then I find it suspect.
Me too!
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 10:50 AM   #11
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Ground Wires


no my comment was to the guy in Ohio. It is a NEC code everywhere. I have contractor licenses for electrical in 12 states. It is amazing how some areas twist things. In CT we need insulated stables of Rmx... Baltimore we did not. Every where in the country you drive ground rods with a sledge hammer but in LA you cannot even hit it, they claim it will completely and permantly magnitise the rod making it ineffective. (Duh?) State inspectors there have a 2nd grade education at best I guess. main issue with grounding wires ... they must have a secure connection. Twisting them together only is not acceptable.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 12:27 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Ground Wires


The NEC does not require green wirenuts. There may be a local amendment that does, or an inspector may misinterpret the code, but this is not an NEC requirement. See this IAEI article (scroll down to question #8) or this thread from Mike Holt's site for all the gory details about the code requirements and the various UL listings involved. In short, you can use either either a regular wirenut or a Greenie for the ground wires, but the Greenie may not be used for any other purpose.
Matsukaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 01:48 PM   #13
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Ground Wires


read your references.. very informative indeed. Also explains the confusion here. And also explains what I posted. Many areas want to follow the code in so much as all items make specifically to connect these ground wires are green or bare. As are the wires themselves. This coupled with the term in the code "greenies" easily being construed to mean these green wire nuts. Even Ideal and others in your refereneces say so. But... what I said is that check you local codes and I feel that anything making a solid connection should be okay.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:26 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Ground Wires


I had no specific reason for saying I would use greenies other than I didn't want to use a crimp and having a bin of greenies is no big deal to me for any of my DIY projects.

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
To ground or not to ground, that is the question cartalker Electrical 8 10-18-2008 10:12 AM
Bare Ground Wires MrBill_DIY Electrical 4 10-05-2008 07:05 PM
Broken/missing ground wires? fw2007 Electrical 5 07-08-2008 09:54 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.