Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 11:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Share |
Default

ground wires


Had a quick question, just to double check ,in the main panel at ground bar can you have 2 ground wires the same hole and do they have to be same size ?
I know the neutral wires are to remain by themselves in neutral bar .
Thanks for any info

hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:40 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

ground wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden 1 View Post
Had a quick question, just to double check ,in the main panel at ground bar can you have 2 ground wires the same hole and do they have to be same size ?
I know the neutral wires are to remain by themselves in neutral bar .
Thanks for any info

Most case useally not a issue and try to keep them in the same size due it easier to toqure the screw properly without damage the conductor.

Look at the bussbar listing to see what the max number of ground conductors it can fit in the opening ( most case useally two but some are listed for three so check it out )

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 07:03 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

ground wires


Most newer panels can accept two or even three grounds of the same size.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Default

ground wires


Thanks.
I will move the #12 to the other #12 and away from the #10..for a more even bite .

Last edited by hidden 1; 06-28-2013 at 04:02 PM.
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maximum wires in box for ceiling fan connection fan13 Electrical 10 07-29-2012 10:11 AM
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 10:58 PM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
cimping ground wires together? drgkjd Electrical 5 05-29-2010 02:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.