Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2011, 07:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Hello,
I'm not an electrician but I have done some wiring in my time. Where I am currently working we are installing a machine that required three phase 480 we ran three 1 AWG conductors and one 8 Awg conductor as the ground wire, the lenght is appox 150 ft. I question the ground wire size as any engineers I have worked with in the past ran a ground wire of equal size. When I questioned the person in charge about the size, he showed me in an old book he used that 8 Awg was a minimum for a ground when ruinning 1 Awg wire. I'd like to here what the truth is.

Thank You
Geezer

Suprageezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 07:41 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,797
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


The equipment ground is sized according to the overcurrent device protecting the circuit.

For a 100A circuit a #8 ground is appropriate and typical. NEC Table T250.122

I have to say, any electrician who sizes the equipment ground equal to the circuit conductors (on larger than 30A circuits) is wasting money.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 08:13 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
The equipment ground is sized according to the overcurrent device protecting the circuit.

For a 100A circuit a #8 ground is appropriate and typical. NEC Table T250.122

I have to say, any electrician who sizes the equipment ground equal to the circuit conductors (on larger than 30A circuits) is wasting money.
Speedy, but doesn't #8 need protection where #6 doesn't so #6 is easier to do??
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 08:51 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,823
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Speedy, but doesn't #8 need protection where #6 doesn't so #6 is easier to do??
Sounds like a circuit in conduit which would be protected, yes?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (07-27-2011)
Old 07-27-2011, 08:52 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,797
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Speedy, but doesn't #8 need protection where #6 doesn't so #6 is easier to do??
We are talking about equipment grounding conductors. Not grounding electrode conductors.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:12 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


OK, I'll have to pay closer attention to detail. That 100 amp example sucked me right in to a panel
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:18 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,823
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
OK, I'll have to pay closer attention to detail. That 100 amp example sucked me right in to a panel
Don't you just hate when that happens?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:24 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Speedy, you have failed to consider that the #1 conductors have been upsized from a #3, for a 100 Amp circuit.

Normally, a #8 is allowable for a 100 Amp circuit, per table 250.122. But if you consider the requirement of 250.122(B), you will have to upsize the EGC by a proportional amount.

A #1 conductor is 59% larger than a #3.

A #8 conductor is 16510 circular mils.
59% of that is 9741 circular mils.

The total of those numbers is 26251 circular mils.

A #6 conductor is 26240 circular mils, close enough for me, but a real stickler (are you paying attention, electures?) might require one to upsize again to a #4.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
electures (07-28-2011)
Old 07-27-2011, 09:41 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,823
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Speedy, you have failed to consider that the #1 conductors have been upsized from a #3, for a 100 Amp circuit.

Normally, a #8 is allowable for a 100 Amp circuit, per table 250.122. But if you consider the requirement of 250.122(B), you will have to upsize the EGC by a proportional amount.

A #1 conductor is 59% larger than a #3.

A #8 conductor is 16510 circular mils.
59% of that is 9741 circular mils.

The total of those numbers is 26251 circular mils.

A #6 conductor is 26240 circular mils, close enough for me, but a real stickler (are you paying attention, electures?) might require one to upsize again to a #4.
I don't see any mention of circuit ampacity in the OP.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
electures (07-28-2011), Speedy Petey (07-28-2011)
Old 07-27-2011, 10:05 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Maybe not, but my response was directed to Speedy, who used 100 Amp in his example.

IF the OP is dealing with a circuit that exceeds 100 Amp, then a #6 EGC would be the minimum size required, adding more if upsizing was involved.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 09:45 AM   #11
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,662
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Suprageezer View Post
Hello,
I'm not an electrician but I have done some wiring in my time. Where I am currently working we are installing a machine that required three phase 480 we ran three 1 AWG conductors and one 8 Awg conductor as the ground wire, the lenght is appox 150 ft. I question the ground wire size as any engineers I have worked with in the past ran a ground wire of equal size. When I questioned the person in charge about the size, he showed me in an old book he used that 8 Awg was a minimum for a ground when ruinning 1 Awg wire. I'd like to here what the truth is.

Thank You
Geezer
In order to answer correctly the size and type of the OCPD protecting the circuit is required.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:58 PM   #12
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,662
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Speedy, you have failed to consider that the #1 conductors have been upsized from a #3, for a 100 Amp circuit.

Normally, a #8 is allowable for a 100 Amp circuit, per table 250.122. But if you consider the requirement of 250.122(B), you will have to upsize the EGC by a proportional amount.

A #1 conductor is 59% larger than a #3.

A #8 conductor is 16510 circular mils.
59% of that is 9741 circular mils.

The total of those numbers is 26251 circular mils.

A #6 conductor is 26240 circular mils, close enough for me, but a real stickler (are you paying attention, electures?) might require one to upsize again to a #4.



90.1 Purpose.
(A) Practical Safeguarding.
The purpose of this Code is
the practical safeguarding of persons and property from
hazards arising from the use of electricity.

(B) Adequacy.
This Code contains provisions that are considered
necessary for safety. Compliance therewith and
proper maintenance results in an installation that is essentially
free from hazard but not necessarily efficient, convenient,
or adequate for good service or future expansion of

electrical use.

Before we travel down that road lets find out more about the machine and wiring. Don't want to get the "experts" excited yet.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:00 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,797
Default

Ground Wire Size Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Speedy, you have failed to consider that the #1 conductors have been upsized from a #3, for a 100 Amp circuit.
You are correct, but it is feasible to use #1 on a 100A circuit and it not be upsized. #1 @ 60 deg C is only 110A.
If there are 60 deg terminations somewhere #2 or #1 would be required, yet only a #8 ground.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question on 240 wire size and ground for wall oven twobyfour2 Electrical 8 04-30-2011 07:13 AM
voltage on ground wire - multiple ground problem? Thaiman Electrical 14 04-02-2011 11:49 AM
Running new(up to code) ground wire & protection. MikeSF Electrical 25 07-04-2010 04:33 PM
Fanimation ceiling fan question: no blue wire from ceiling camrn2006 Electrical 8 03-07-2010 12:19 AM
Grounding conduit instead of using a ground wire? stringtheories Electrical 10 08-02-2008 12:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.