Ground Wire Pigtail Size For 8-gauge Wire? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2012, 11:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground wire pigtail size for 8-gauge wire?


I've created a 240-volt circuit in my basement garage with 8-gauge wire and a 40 amp breaker, running to a metal J box.

I need to ground the metal box with a pigtail, but stranded 8 gauge is too thick and doesn't work with the green grounding screw. Can I use 12 gauge wire for this purpose? or maybe stranded 10 gauge? Thanks.

Advertisement

bottlerockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:45 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Ground wire pigtail size for 8-gauge wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bottlerockett View Post
I've created a 240-volt circuit in my basement garage with 8-gauge wire and a 40 amp breaker, running to a metal J box.

I need to ground the metal box with a pigtail, but stranded 8 gauge is too thick and doesn't work with the green grounding screw. Can I use 12 gauge wire for this purpose? or maybe stranded 10 gauge? Thanks.
# 10 awg will work for this size. either bare or green conductor.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 12:23 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground wire pigtail size for 8-gauge wire?


I tried 10 gauge to ground the box, and it's frustrating because the wire is braided. So when I tighten the green screw, the braids of wire push away from the screw, and I don't feel like I'm making a secure connection.

Can you buy solid 10 gauge, or would 12 gauge solid work? I don't get it.
bottlerockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:28 AM   #4
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Ground wire pigtail size for 8-gauge wire?


you can buy solid #10, or a 'Sta-Kon' or similar fork/crimp terminal for your stranded wire.
Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:37 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Ground wire pigtail size for 8-gauge wire?


They also make ring terminals that fit about every wire size out there but a #8 ground pigtail may be hard to deal with.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ground wire pigtail size for 8-gauge wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
They also make ring terminals that fit about every wire size out there but a #8 ground pigtail may be hard to deal with.
I am trying to figure out how he ended up with a #8 EGC to start with.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 12:28 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground wire pigtail size for 8-gauge wire?


Thanks all, I totally forgot about a crimping option.

Code05, can you explain what you mean? Not sure I understand your comment.

8 gauge wire and a 40 amp breaker are the appropriate size for my needs -- a dedicated circuit for a small welder or a future electric car charging unit in my garage.
bottlerockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 01:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ground wire pigtail size for 8-gauge wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bottlerockett View Post
Thanks all, I totally forgot about a crimping option.

Code05, can you explain what you mean? Not sure I understand your comment.

8 gauge wire and a 40 amp breaker are the appropriate size for my needs -- a dedicated circuit for a small welder or a future electric car charging unit in my garage.
You may have needed #8 for hots and a neutral, if needed, but the ground wire for a 40 amp circuit need only be a #10.

There certain conditions that require a larger ground, but this isn't one.

Is this circuit in conduit and you pulled a #8 ground?

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 11:58 PM
Ground Wire Size? ddawg16 Electrical 5 03-17-2012 03:04 PM
What size wire for above ground swimming pool pump jshep105 Electrical 12 05-28-2011 07:43 AM
Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ? sciron Electrical 6 02-19-2011 06:28 PM
Panel ground and wire size tns1 Electrical 25 09-18-2009 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts