Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2011, 05:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Washington State
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Is the Ground Wire Necessary?


I reviewed all the posts regarding ground wires, but did not find my particular issue. I want to change a hard-wired chandelier into a plug-in hanging lamp. It has a ground wire, but I don't want to use a 3-pronged plug. Is it okay to cut the ground wire off where it comes out of the top of the chandelier? Thanks!
seniorlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 05:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Sfeyelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Default

Is the Ground Wire Necessary?


Very bad idea, and i highly recommend against doing this.
Sfeyelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Sfeyelectric For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-19-2011), Code05 (11-19-2011), NJMarine (11-19-2011)
Old 11-19-2011, 06:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Is the Ground Wire Necessary?


Quote:
Originally Posted by seniorlady View Post
is it okay to cut the ground wire off where it comes out of the top of the chandelier?
no!!!!
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 07:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Default

Is the Ground Wire Necessary?


the fact you have to ask suggests you really need the extra bit of insurance the ground wire provides.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 07:07 PM   #5
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 291
Default

Is the Ground Wire Necessary?


Buy 3 wire (Black, White, Green) stranded wire to your length at HomeDepot. Its about $0.50 a foot (the type thats used for powertools/lighting/extension cord/etc.) Buy a grounded male plug. Wire to the colors.

Black-Black, White-White, Copper/Green-Green

This way may sound ugly, and it is, but, I don't mean to scare you...........NEVER defeat the grounding on anything unless you want a risk of death or injury. The "grounding" is there to protect YOU!
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 10:08 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Washington State
Posts: 2
Default

Is the Ground Wire Necessary?


Thanks Everyone! I'll do it correctly!
seniorlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 10:57 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Is the Ground Wire Necessary?


Do you have a grounded receptacle? Is your house wired with a ground at every receptacle? Your question makes me ask. Do your receptacles (plugs) have three wires or two? Do you have conduit or cable (Romex) wiring?
Everyone is correct about the safety, but if you do not have a grounded receptacle to plug it into, you have no where to connect the ground wire. In this case you never cut it off. You fold it neatly back into the box unconnected.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 11:31 AM   #8
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 961
Default

Is the Ground Wire Necessary?


Maybe a picture of the light? Might be possible to do what you want and maintain a ground
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlet - no ground wire clydesdale Electrical 17 12-18-2011 02:29 AM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 08:20 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.