Ground Wire From Main Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2012, 11:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground wire from main panel


i cut a two inch hole in the wall to the outside of the house for the electrical cable i'm running the garage along with a 2 foot trench and noticed something about the main panel in the house. one of the ground wires leaving the ground bar to a rod outside in the main was definetly installed by some half rigging dumbass! the bare copper wire leaves the house in between two pieces of aluminum siding where they overlap each other. it's exposed and can easily be ran over with the lawn mover tripped over etc. beings i have the wall opened up i would like to fix this crap while im at it with the cable to the garage. so my question is what is the proper way for this wire to leave the house to the rod outside? can i just utilize the new two inch opening with the PVC pipping going the garage to run it through? it's conveniently right next to it.

Advertisement

bmorekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 11:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Ground wire from main panel


Before anyone else asks I'll suggest a picture be put up possibly?

Advertisement

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-09-2012)
Old 01-09-2012, 11:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground wire from main panel


i wish i could but i can't find the usb connector for my camera.
bmorekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 11:31 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Ground wire from main panel


Are there any other utility grounding wires attached? An inter-system bonding bar?

You have to ensure there is adequate access to that electrode conductor for proper bonding ....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 11:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground wire from main panel


there is a bonding bar but not sure what that has to do with it. i just want to kill power to the panel, remove this existing ground wire and install it properly. it looks like someone drilled a hole through the siding just big enough to fit it through and is hanging out about a foot from the house where it connects to the ground bar.
bmorekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 01:13 AM   #6
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground wire from main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by bmorekid
i cut a two inch hole in the wall to the outside of the house for the electrical cable i'm running the garage along with a 2 foot trench and noticed something about the main panel in the house. one of the ground wires leaving the ground bar to a rod outside in the main was definetly installed by some half rigging dumbass! the bare copper wire leaves the house in between two pieces of aluminum siding where they overlap each other. it's exposed and can easily be ran over with the lawn mover tripped over etc. beings i have the wall opened up i would like to fix this crap while im at it with the cable to the garage. so my question is what is the proper way for this wire to leave the house to the rod outside? can i just utilize the new two inch opening with the PVC pipping going the garage to run it through? it's conveniently right next to it.
Run the ground wire in PVC
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 01:18 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Ground wire from main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Run the ground wire in PVC
Use the Shedule 80 aka thickwall PVC that will take a beating a bit more than what the Shedule 40 can do withstand it.

To OP just be aware not all big box store will stock Shedule 80 PVC espcally in small size that part you may want to scoot over to the electrique supply centre. they useally have something in stock.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 06:25 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Ground wire from main panel


The fat ground wire (grounding electrode conductor) from panel to ground rod can be run in any fashion that does not subject it to damage.

To a ground rod the maximum size needed for a GEC is #6 copper.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Sub Panel Questions rdkng07 Electrical 6 05-25-2011 09:46 AM
Sub-panel selewis Electrical 23 02-21-2010 11:52 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM
wire to a workshop jim c Electrical 11 03-02-2007 04:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts