Ground Wire In Boxes - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 859
Rewards Points: 694
Default

Ground wire in boxes


I have all EMT conduits and metal boxes.

In many cases I have four 20/20 boxes, two side by side separated by like two inches, to accommodate a light switch, a scone switch, a fan and an outlet (like in a bathroom). Then on the back side of the same wall, I have two more boxes side by side. Basically four boxes very close to each other. They are all connected.

In such as situation, do you connect a separate green wire to each box individually for all the grounding of that box?

Or do you use one green screw and splice out four green wires of varying lengths to take it to each box?

Doesn't matter just wondering the pros and cons.

Advertisement

miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Ground wire in boxes


How do the various cables enter the various boxes?

The ground wire must accompany the associated hot(s) and neutral in the same cable or conduit. Once inside the box, all ground wires from the various cables are connected together (bonded) and extra short lengths (pigtails) are used to reach the switch, receptacle, etc.and also one pigtail to reach the box itself.

When a clip sold separately for that purposes is squashed between the switch or receptacle mounting strip (yoke) and the box then it is only necessary to pigtail the grounds to the box and not to that switch or receptacle.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-03-2012 at 08:25 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 859
Rewards Points: 694
Default

Ground wire in boxes


It is all EMT conduits transporting the wires.

Right now there is no green wire at all in ANY conduits. All the green wires are contained it each individual boxes are connected to the green screw to the metal box. If I have more then one devices then yes a pig tail and splice together.

I am just wondering in cases where I have four boxes back to back, side by side, may be it's easier to run the green wires from one box to the bother boxes through the short EMTs.

Last edited by miamicuse; 06-03-2012 at 09:18 PM.
miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:37 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,038
Rewards Points: 2,874
Default

Ground wire in boxes


Your EMT is your ground. You can pigtail the devices to the boxes.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 09:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 859
Rewards Points: 694
Default

Ground wire in boxes


That's what I have been doing.

Just was wondering when I have four boxes so close to each other may be it's easier to run three green wires to the other boxes.

I take back my comments on no green wire in any conduit. I have no green wires in any of the EMT conduits, but where I connect to MC cables I there is green wires in them and I believe one cannot use the MC metal shield as ground.
miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 02:33 PM
Ground rod and ground wire question mulltron Electrical 17 07-29-2011 06:10 PM
Running new(up to code) ground wire & protection. MikeSF Electrical 25 07-04-2010 05:33 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts