Ground Wire Being Used As Traveler - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 04:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground wire being used as traveler


I purchased an older home, and have DIY project I'm working on. Today I was confused with something I've never seen. In my Kitchen I have LED recessed lighting with 2 switches (3 way switches). I was attempting to replace a switch with a led dimmer. I found that one switch had 14-2 wire. Romex is being used and it is a plastic connection box - however the bare ground wire was being used as a traveler. Black wire was hot, and White & Bare were travelers. Question: Can I leave it as such? What kind of problems can I expect? Most importantly, HOW can I correct this, as dont want to put holes in wall?

Advertisement


Last edited by drmod; 04-22-2013 at 04:38 PM. Reason: clarification
drmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:00 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Ground wire being used as traveler


This is a VERY dangerous thing to do. It indicates that the wiring was done by an unqualified person with no regard for safety or code. Having found that, I would expect other serious electrical issues in the house as a result of the same person's wiring. It is both a fire and shock hazard. This very practice was responsible for the death of a young boy a few years ago (). There is no easy way to keep the 3-way function without replacing the cable, although you can do it using a wireless switch. You really need to fix this ASAP and carefully evaluate all of the electrical work on this property for other hazards.

Advertisement

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:27 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Ground wire being used as traveler


Absolutely not.... as stated earlier, either rewire the existing switches, or buy a wireless switch setup.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Ground wire being used as traveler


Immediately undo both ends of the bare wire from the respective switch terminals.

Next you may connect those wire ends to the cluster of ground wires in the switch box.

To complete the grounding, connect a short length (pigtail) from the green screw of the switch to the cluster of ground wires. (If only one ground wire enters the box and there is just one switch, you may connect that wire directly to the switch without using a pigtail.)

You can convert to wireless switches at a later date (or later today if you wish).
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:28 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground wire being used as traveler


Okay, thanks for the info. I will just hire an electrician to remedy.
drmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
please help!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a ground wire to a fixture? dkeith Electrical 2 06-01-2011 09:08 PM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 10:38 AM
voltage on ground wire - multiple ground problem? Thaiman Electrical 14 04-02-2011 12:49 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts