Ground Wire Being Used As Traveler - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 03:17 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

PLEASE HELP! Ground wire being used as traveler in 3-way switch

I purchased an older home, and have DIY project I'm working on. Today I was confused with something I've never seen. In my Kitchen I have LED recessed lighting with 2 switches (3 way switches). I was attempting to replace a switch with a led dimmer. I found that one switch had 14-2 wire. Romex is being used and it is a plastic connection box - however the bare ground wire was being used as a traveler. Black wire was hot, and White & Bare were travelers. Question: Can I leave it as such? What kind of problems can I expect? Most importantly, HOW can I correct this, as dont want to put holes in wall?


Last edited by drmod; 04-22-2013 at 03:38 PM. Reason: clarification
drmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 04:00 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,936
Rewards Points: 2,772

This is a VERY dangerous thing to do. It indicates that the wiring was done by an unqualified person with no regard for safety or code. Having found that, I would expect other serious electrical issues in the house as a result of the same person's wiring. It is both a fire and shock hazard. This very practice was responsible for the death of a young boy a few years ago (). There is no easy way to keep the 3-way function without replacing the cable, although you can do it using a wireless switch. You really need to fix this ASAP and carefully evaluate all of the electrical work on this property for other hazards.


I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 04:27 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
stickboy1375's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970

Absolutely not.... as stated earlier, either rewire the existing switches, or buy a wireless switch setup.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:41 PM   #4
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,829
Rewards Points: 3,764

Immediately undo both ends of the bare wire from the respective switch terminals.

Next you may connect those wire ends to the cluster of ground wires in the switch box.

To complete the grounding, connect a short length (pigtail) from the green screw of the switch to the cluster of ground wires. (If only one ground wire enters the box and there is just one switch, you may connect that wire directly to the switch without using a pigtail.)

You can convert to wireless switches at a later date (or later today if you wish).
States can help recovery from hurricanes and tornadoes by not requiring due digence or prompt and timely correction of substandard conditions, and by providing continued liability insurance where companies drop homeowners.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 10:28 PM   #5
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10


Okay, thanks for the info. I will just hire an electrician to remedy.
drmod is offline   Reply With Quote

please help!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a ground wire to a fixture? dkeith Electrical 2 06-01-2011 08:08 PM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
voltage on ground wire - multiple ground problem? Thaiman Electrical 14 04-02-2011 11:49 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1