Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2010, 02:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Share |
Default

ground wire


Our new house has a ground wire coming out near the top of the house and it meets a rod driven into the ground. But the rod has a second wire attached to it with a long wire that coiled and wrapped around the rod. Is there a purpose for this second wire?


Last edited by debd; 04-18-2010 at 02:34 AM.
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 07:22 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

ground wire


Does that other wire perhaps go to a second ground rod?

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 02:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Default

ground wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Does that other wire perhaps go to a second ground rod?
There isn't a second ground rod visible. However the second wire is stripped at the unattached end and I see where it was once attached to the house. I looks like two wires came out of the top of the house and attached to the one rod. So what could this have been attached to at one time, and is it now necessary?
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 02:31 PM   #4
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,137
Default

ground wire


Your description is somewhat confusing, but let me take a crack at it. When you say there is a "ground wire coming out near the top of the house", I assume you mean a wire laying on the roof that is attached to a grounding rod at ground level. The second wire, from our description, is wrapped around the grounding rod, but not attached to anything else.

Sounds like you have a lightning arresting system on your house, and the wire that runs from the roof to the grounding rod is part of the system. As for the unattached wire on the grounding rod, I have no idea, unless at one time it attached to a second grounding rod. I would check your electrical panel to see if there is a grounding wire connected to the panel. There is a chance the loose ground wire belongs to the house electrical system, in which case you had better get it checked out.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 03:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Default

ground wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
Your description is somewhat confusing, but let me take a crack at it. When you say there is a "ground wire coming out near the top of the house", I assume you mean a wire laying on the roof that is attached to a grounding rod at ground level. The second wire, from our description, is wrapped around the grounding rod, but not attached to anything else.

Sounds like you have a lightning arresting system on your house, and the wire that runs from the roof to the grounding rod is part of the system. As for the unattached wire on the grounding rod, I have no idea, unless at one time it attached to a second grounding rod. I would check your electrical panel to see if there is a grounding wire connected to the panel. There is a chance the loose ground wire belongs to the house electrical system, in which case you had better get it checked out.

Thanks for taking a crack at it. By top of house I ment high on the wall about a foot down from the eves. But upon closer examination I see that it isn't attached to anything either as it is a loose unattached wire at the top. So I'm assuming that it was once the house ground and it was all detached and changed. How do we go about finding out where the house is grounded?
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 05:49 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

ground wire


Perhaps a ground wire from a removed satellite dish or TV antenna.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 12:24 PM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,613
Default

ground wire


electrical is grounded within your CB panel raw copper wire from the pole...telephone companies clap onto the copper piping to ground awat from the utilities.. rod into the ground is lightning arrestor drain back into the earth on a strke
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 07:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Default

ground wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
electrical is grounded within your CB panel raw copper wire from the pole...telephone companies clap onto the copper piping to ground awat from the utilities.. rod into the ground is lightning arrestor drain back into the earth on a strke
We indeed found the copper wire running down the side of the telephone/electrical pole. So I'm assuming its one ground for all the houses attached to it, five of us.

debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no ground wire jamesm113 Electrical 9 08-30-2009 08:40 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Running a ground wire T Blanco Electrical 3 01-07-2008 03:17 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.