Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2013, 07:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Share |
Question

ground tied in with neutral


i noticed that a switch,being fed from a receptacle had a ground wire tied in with the white wires.its like this.feed from outlet to switch,ground wire cut,the ground wire from the fed wire[witch is for a cieling fan only] is tied in with the nuetrals.im pretty sure the grounds should be run through and pigtailed,to attactch to the green screw on the switch.right?.its probably been like this a long time.i just noticed it today but left it the way it is for now.should i just leave it or run the ground to the green screw on the switch and through to the fan.

imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 07:55 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

ground tied in with neutral


The ground should never be connected to the neutral in a switch or receptacle box. Doing so can create a potentially deadly shock hazard.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Cletis (12-29-2013), gregzoll (12-29-2013), imawelder (12-28-2013), mj12 (12-30-2013), mpoulton (12-28-2013)
Old 12-27-2013, 08:20 PM   #3
Banned Electrician
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA, Master Electrician
Posts: 203
Default

ground tied in with neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by imawelder View Post
i noticed that a switch,being fed from a receptacle had a ground wire tied in with the white wires.its like this.feed from outlet to switch,ground wire cut,the ground wire from the fed wire[witch is for a cieling fan only] is tied in with the nuetrals.im pretty sure the grounds should be run through and pigtailed,to attactch to the green screw on the switch.right?.its probably been like this a long time.i just noticed it today but left it the way it is for now.should i just leave it or run the ground to the green screw on the switch and through to the fan.
That is called a bootleg ground,and is dangerous , do not leave it that way.
__________________
"Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem."
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to HARRY304E For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-29-2013), imawelder (12-28-2013), mpoulton (12-28-2013)
Old 12-28-2013, 10:53 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Default

ground tied in with neutral


The purpose of a ground wire in any circuit is to allow fault current a path to flow and should never be used as the return path for normal current. This is gor safety. The only place that the neutral and ground are connected is at the panel. If the ground is tied to the neutral at a load, outlet or a switch and a fault occurs it is possible for the fault current to flow through other loads on its way back to the main panel and damage those loads.

Under normal conditions the ground wire should never have any current flowing on it.
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to statum1012 For This Useful Post:
imawelder (12-28-2013)
Old 12-28-2013, 01:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Default

ground tied in with neutral


i figured it was wrong.wasnt exactly sure of all the details why though.i dont understand why ppl would take such shortcuts.why not just do it the right way!.im going to make it right today.thanks for the replies!!
imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Default

ground tied in with neutral


i guess i could mention that my house burnt 20 yrs ago and was redone by the previous owner[who was a mechanic at a plastic factory].obviously had to have some knowledge of electricity and codes.since ive been here ive changed a lot of things around. i think he stole half of the supplies from the plant and took many shortcuts to save a buck!.why someone would put thier life into rebuilding a home only to take dangerous shortcuts with electrical is beyond me!!.thanks for the info guys
imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 03:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

ground tied in with neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by imawelder View Post
[who was a mechanic at a plastic factory].obviously had to have some knowledge of electricity and codes.
Don't bet on that!
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to danpik For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-29-2013), imawelder (12-29-2013)
Old 12-28-2013, 07:45 PM   #8
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

ground tied in with neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by imawelder
i guess i could mention that my house burnt 20 yrs ago and was redone by the previous owner[who was a mechanic at a plastic factory].obviously had to have some knowledge of electricity and codes
Maybe enough to be dangerous yes.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-29-2013), imawelder (12-29-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 04:33 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

ground tied in with neutral


Would be a good idea to check the rest of the circuit/outlets too.Seeing what dangerous shortcuts were applied on it ,there may be more.
Better to be safe than on fire..again.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hidden1 For This Useful Post:
imawelder (12-29-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 07:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Default

ground tied in with neutral


ive been through most of the house already.almost every recep replaced,changed a few things in the box and got rid of a couple circuits i know i wont need and want the room for other stuff later maybee.one thing i know i need is a box with more lugs.mine is a square d 200 amp with 30 poles[or lugs?].a friend told me i could get a box with more "spots" for breakers that way i would be able to have more circuits and less stuff tied in together everywhere.every breaker except the heaters and stove and dryer have 2 black wires because theres so many receps and switches and not enough spots for them to have thier own breakers.uugghhhh.its messy but i like doing it over for my enjoyment education and peace of mind!!!. i really appreciate the feed back from you guys.remember the name...if you need advice with anything welding or metal related...ask me!!!.thanks guys
imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 07:46 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

ground tied in with neutral


You may have a 30/40 panel. Post the model number for confirmation.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 07:49 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,357
Default

ground tied in with neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Maybe enough to be dangerous yes.
Whats the old saying ?
"A little knowledge is a dangerous thing"

TOO TRUE !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (12-29-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 09:35 PM   #13
TWX
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Default

ground tied in with neutral


The question is, was all of this avant-garde wiring done to repair the house that burned, or was it done before the house burned?


TWX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neutral Ground Bus Bar, Will This Be A Problem Now Tyrel Electrical 9 08-25-2013 07:12 AM
Question about small voltage between neutral and ground voodoochile Electrical 3 11-01-2012 08:16 PM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 07:44 PM
Sharing Neutrals on the same phase electro Electrical 30 08-12-2010 02:10 PM
Ground question. mystery guest Electrical 5 07-24-2008 12:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.