Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 11:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground rod or not?


I have a detached building that I am going to use as a woodshop. I am installing a 100amp subpanel in the building. The building is only about 15 feet from the main panel that supplies my home, which is where the feeder breaker will be. Do I install a new ground rod for this subpanel, or do I ground back to the main service panel?

Thanks,
Chad

brotherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 11:14 PM   #2
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground rod or not?


install ground rods and keep the nuetral and ground bonded together other on the subpanel




.......corrected


Last edited by jimmy21; 07-09-2008 at 11:36 PM. Reason: corrections
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 11:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground rod or not?


seperate neutral and ground from one another? Neutral wire to neutral bar, and ground wire coming from ground rod to equipment ground in subpanel?

talking about electrical work, I probably sound ignorant, so please excuse

Thanks,
chad
brotherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 11:34 PM   #4
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground rod or not?


err wait, i screwed up on that, i was typing without even thinking. You want them together. There will be two seperate bars, and on the subpanel you buy there will probably be a green screw that you will need to screw in through the nuetral bar tying it to the panel can. Or sometimes there is a bar that you tie the two together. Either way, you need to make sure there is conductivity between the two
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 11:37 PM   #5
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Ground rod or not?


I thought that you do want them isolated in a sub panel? I may be wrong since it is a detached building but I don't know
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 11:37 PM   #6
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground rod or not?


Doesn't matter if it's 15ft or 115ft. Separate the ground and neutral busses in the detached power panel, drive a rod and bond to the ground bus, and run a ground wire to the source panel. The important thing here is that, unlike your service panel, the ground and neutral busses must be separated electrically.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 12:30 AM   #7
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground rod or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
I thought that you do want them isolated in a sub panel? I may be wrong since it is a detached building but I don't know
if its in the same building you would. in a separate building you want to drive ground rods and separate the ground and neutral
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 12:40 AM   #8
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Ground rod or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
err wait, i screwed up on that, i was typing without even thinking. You want them together. There will be two seperate bars, and on the subpanel you buy there will probably be a green screw that you will need to screw in through the nuetral bar tying it to the panel can. Or sometimes there is a bar that you tie the two together. Either way, you need to make sure there is conductivity between the two
Ok this is why I asked cuz in this post your telling them to keep them bonded.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 02:25 AM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,122
Rewards Points: 2,214
Default

Ground rod or not?


Depends on what code cycle your inspector is using. Prior to the 2008... 120/240 volt feeders to detached buildings could be 3 wire H-H-N.....unless another metallic or conductive path existed (metal water pipe, data com cables etc..) then you are required to run a 4 wire feeder H-H-N-Grd. If your inspector is using 2008 then 4 wires are required as the 3 wire feeder is no longer allowed.

Prior to 2008 NEC Cycle (no metallic path other than feeder) 1st image....2nd image is 2008 ( I made the drawing in 2004 as a 4 wire feeder BUT is now required in 2008)
Attached Thumbnails
Ground rod or not?-3-wire-feeder-detached.jpg   Ground rod or not?-4-wire-subpanel-detached.jpg  

Last edited by Stubbie; 07-11-2008 at 08:09 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 07:10 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Ground rod or not?


In your 3 wire feeder you show the Neutral and ground bonded. Everything we read says the neutral has to be isolated in a sub panel.
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 08:50 AM   #11
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ground rod or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyD View Post
In your 3 wire feeder you show the Neutral and ground bonded. Everything we read says the neutral has to be isolated in a sub panel.
The three wire feeder functions just like the three wire feeder to your main service. The neutral and ground are bonded, to each other and the enclosure. You need ground rods whether you use three or four wire feeders. As Stubbie pointed out, if 2008 codes are in effect in your area, only four wire feeders are now allowed to detached buildings, with neutral and ground separated.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 10:27 AM   #12
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Ground rod or not?


Ok thank you to all of those especially stubbie who clarified this subject for those of us that were a little confused.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:05 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Ground rod or not?


Here is what was posted by the "kctermite" a couple of months back.
[quote=thekctermite;122093]
A sub panel is fed off of the main panel using a double breaker that catches both the A and B phases. The feeder wires are sized based on the size of the breaker in the main panel that serves the sub panel.

In a sub panel, the circuits' neutrals must float...Or be isolated from the grounds. The neutral bar must not be bonded to the panel jacket. This is incredibly important.
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:16 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Ground rod or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimmy View Post
Doesn't matter if it's 15ft or 115ft. Separate the ground and neutral busses in the detached power panel, drive a rod and bond to the ground bus, and run a ground wire to the source panel. The important thing here is that, unlike your service panel, the ground and neutral busses must be separated electrically.
This is absolutely correct.
And you must not use the neutral bonding screw either. If it is installed you must remove it.
Neutrals and grounds need to be seperated as BigJimmy said.
Since you are installing this new and have not pulled any conductors, just go with the four wire system. Your local jurisdiction may require this anyway depending on the code cycle they are following. Re: Stubbie.
You also will need a main breaker for the 100 amp sub panel. You need # 3 conductors (3) and a # 8 (1) ground. PVC conduit would be my choice on this project. You have to dig a trench anyway.
You may also be required to drive 2 ground rods.
Finally, are you getting a permit for this installation? If not, you are making a huge mistake. While permits add to the job cost and inspectors can be *******s, at least you will know that you have a compliant and safe installation.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:21 AM   #15
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ground rod or not?


A true statement by the distinguished mr kctermite. For a subpanel in the same structure as the main panel, it is a requirement that the panel be fed with four wires and that the neutral and ground be isolated. No exceptions.

The difference is for a detached structure. Prior to the 2008 code cycle, you could feed a detached structure with three wires and bond the neutral and ground, as long as there were no other metallic paths between the buildings. That option has now gone away, and not soon enough in my opinion.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temporary Genrator Ground theatretch85 Electrical 32 08-05-2008 01:05 PM
Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help Toyz Electrical 1 06-15-2008 09:41 AM
12v diff between ground and neutral at panel am9518 Electrical 7 02-25-2008 07:28 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 02:23 AM
Ground rod blues!!! ra_doliv Electrical 8 09-03-2007 12:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.