Ground Rod - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 11:21 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

ground rod


a tool yes.but with out the tool,no procedure.the procedure comes with knowing how to use the tools.

Advertisement

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:21 PM   #32
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
And who even cares if you do have 25 ohms? I bet you could drive 100 rods and not get 25 ohms.
Actually, if you get enough guys to come over and take a leak around and between the ground rods.....you can get below 25 ohms.....not that we ever did that.....just speculation....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:37 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74
a tool yes.but with out the tool,no procedure.the procedure comes with knowing how to use the tools.
So you're telling me I shouldn't have asked the question because I should know the answer? That's the dumbest thing I've heard today.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:37 PM   #34
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,226
Rewards Points: 2,422
Default

ground rod


Ground resistance testing is usually done by a few methods and I'm pretty sure the fall of potential type or procedure is the most common. The tester is pretty steep cost wise to make it very practical for residential installations.

http://www.electricsuppliesonline.co...-flk-1625.html
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:39 AM   #35
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ground rod


So basically, the thought behind a ground rod be it 1 or 100 is that it will send the energy from a lightning strike to the earth and not into your home?
If this is the case,would the strike have to be in/at a certain point like the meter itself or the line going into the meter?
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 08:29 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Many many years ago when I was in the AF doing combat HF and microwave communications.....a good ground was crucial to an HF antenna having good propogation....so we acutually used a megger to measure the ground resistance.....if it was not low enough....we got the water truck over to our area of the LZ and we would wet down the ground.....
OT: When the antenna is one straight vertical member and you have a "ground system" to go with it, a more efficient antenna consists of a second vertical member of the same kind positioned end to end, with no ground system. That configuration is called a dipole. For many HF (3 to 30* MHz; "high frequency band") and lower frequency applications, the vertical dipole, given its required overall length, is impractical to install (the resulting tower would be too difficult to build) and a single member (also called a radiator for a transmitting antenna) together with a ground system of horizontally buried wires as the other half of the dipole is quite satsifactory. (Additional vertical members with ground systems several to many feet away can be added to impart a directional pattern to the signal, which is required for many AM broadcasting stations to prevent interfering with one another.)

* Way OT: Comes from "order of magnitude 10^7 Hz" which to purists means the range 10^(6-1/2) or about 3.16 MHz to 10^(7-1/2) or about 31.6 MHz.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-16-2012 at 11:50 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 08:41 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
So...for residential electrical service purposes, what is the accepted procedure to actually determine/measure the resistance value? Is the procedure defined by the code? Does anybody execute it or do they simply drive 2 rods and forget about it?

I'm sure the Air Force communications discipline has its own procedure which may or may not differ?
Much easier/faster/cheaper to just drive 2 rods.

Just to further muddy the waters, for communications purposes you're worried about RF ground, which is not the same as ground for AC power.

Advertisement

Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 09:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 09:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 05:55 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 04:26 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 03:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts