Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 12:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

ground rod


I have a question .I have plastic pipes in my house and need to install a ground rod ,so after I install the rod where do I run wire to from rod

drewsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:00 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

ground rod


ground buss in main panel.

oleguy74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:16 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,856
Default

ground rod


Run the wire (#6 copper; grounding electrode conductor) non-stop from the ground rods to the main panel neutral bus.

In the main panel the ground bus does need to be bonded to the neutral bus either using a jumper bar or a #6 jumper wire or having both busses making good metal to metal contact with the panel body. A screw provided for the purpose that digs into the panel back is a suitable bonding.

You need two 8 foot ground rods at least 6 feet apart.

For those eavesdropping who already have a grounding electrode conductor non-stop from the panel to a metal water pipe exiting the house underground, the GEC from ground rods added later can be clamped onto the existing GEC if it should reach that first.

Note that the "main panel" is where the first master disconnecting switch/breaker is located, not necessarily the panel with the greatest number of branch circuit breakers.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-14-2012 at 06:26 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ
Note that the "main panel" is where the first master disconnecting switch/breaker is located, not necessarily the panel with the greatest number of branch circuit breakers.
What about rural settings? Quite often the meter is mounted on a pole (not the residential structure) with a customer disconnect immediately below the meter. Then, 3 conductors (overhead or underground) feed the 1st panel of the structure. This panel possesses the ground rod, but it does not possess the "first" disconnecting means. It is at the pole. So...Is the code such that a 4-conductor service should feed the structure's first panel?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:20 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

ground rod


That is the code with one caveat...there should be rods at the pole, the house fed with a 4 wire, and rods at the house.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz
That is the code with one caveat...there should be rods at the pole, the house fed with a 4 wire, and rods at the house.
I've never seen grounding at the pole beyond that which comes with the pole. And I've never seen a 4-conductor main service (meaning from pole to panel). Maybe I'll look harder.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:31 PM   #7
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,086
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ

You need two 8 foot ground rods at least 6 feet apart.
Why 2 rods?
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:35 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Why 2 rods?
Despite all the misinformation out there, 2 rods is code unless you can prove one rod provides less than 25 ohms of resistance to earth. Then only one rod is required.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:44 PM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,801
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Despite all the misinformation out there, 2 rods is code unless you can prove one rod provides less than 25 ohms of resistance to earth. Then only one rod is required.
Correct.....in other words....it's cheaper and quicker to pound in a second rod than do the testing........and in the grand scheme of things....most likely more reliable.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-14-2012)
Old 11-14-2012, 08:53 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16

and in the grand scheme of things....most likely more reliable.
Reliable for what? Do 2 or 4 or 10 rods really offer significantly greater safety from lightning than 1 rod? What data set can really demonstrate this hypothesis?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:12 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bluefield, VA (SW VA)
Posts: 45
Default

ground rod


It's not for lightning protection, it's an alternate, safe path for errant current from faulty wiring, etc, to return to earth....instead of through you
mterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:14 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,669
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by mterry View Post
It's not for lightning protection, it's an alternate, safe path for errant current from faulty wiring, etc, to return to earth....instead of through you
No its NOT... it IS for lightning protection. Current does not seek the EARTH!
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (11-14-2012)
Old 11-14-2012, 09:16 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,669
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
Reliable for what? Do 2 or 4 or 10 rods really offer significantly greater safety from lightning than 1 rod? What data set can really demonstrate this hypothesis?
The 25 ohm rule is a hard one to swallow, no one knows why it exists, to make life easy, we drive two rods and leave it at that, hell, does ONE rod do anything?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:18 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bluefield, VA (SW VA)
Posts: 45
Default

ground rod


But it does seek the much lower resistance of a copper grounding system than, say, the impedance of human, wood, brick, glass, rubber, plastic, right?
mterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:19 PM   #15
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,086
Default

ground rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

No its NOT... it IS for lightning protection. Current does not seek the EARTH!
Lighting sure does though.

sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
jlmran (11-14-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 08:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.