Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 12:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Ground Rod


How far can the first ground rod be from the meter base?
meroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Ground Rod


Right below it is fine unless it is an underground feed, usually need 2 rods.

Few power companies allow you to attach it to their meter base, so check first.

Rods need to be 6 feet apart with a #6 copper wire connected.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Ground Rod


If the ground cannot be close under the meter base, how far can you place the first rod from the base?
meroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Ground Rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by meroy View Post
If the ground cannot be close under the meter base, how far can you place the first rod from the base?
No minimum distance that I know of, within reason of course.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Ground Rod


250.30(A)(4) Grounding Electrode. The grounding electrode shall
be as near as practicable to, and preferably in the same area
as, the grounding electrode conductor connection to the
system.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
meroy (09-21-2011)
Old 09-21-2011, 01:14 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Ground Rod


I need to know the maximun distance. Because of rock cannot get first closer than 8ft.
meroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Ground Rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
250.30(A)(4) Grounding Electrode. The grounding electrode shall
be as near as practicable to, and preferably in the same area
as, the grounding electrode conductor connection to the
system.
Quote:
Originally Posted by meroy View Post
I need to know the maximun distance. Because of rock cannot get first closer than 8ft.
There is no max. 8 feet is fine.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 06:30 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,215
Default

Ground Rod


Yea....that has changed over the years.

When I upgraded my load center 11 years ago from 60A to 200A, the requirement was a ground rod where the water pipe entered the house...so you drive an 8' ground rod in close to the water pipe...connect a 6AWG wire to the water pipe...then the ground rod...and then run it over to the load center (meter). In my case, about 35'.

Now....11 years later...I'm doing a 2-story addition...and having to move my meter....as noted above...'close as possible'....but I also have to have an UFER (if doing new concrete work). Basically, a 4 AWG wire 20' long embeded in the concrete....or bonded to all of the rebar....I did both....and also slamed a new ground rod into the ground in my crawl space....I'll be using it as a tie point for the existing ground...

So....now my new meter will be bonded to my concrete slab which is my UFER ground....and a new ground rod about 25' away....AND the existing ground rod at the front of the house which is also tied to my incoming water pipe......

I think I'm grounded.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 08:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.