Ground Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2013, 10:15 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,835
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default

ground question


Our crawl space has a single incandescent bulb, which I often have to supplement with a trouble light, depending on what I am doing down there, so one of this weeks projects is to replace it with 4 cfl fixtures. The incoming power is NM, and the new lights will be run with THWN through EMT. Am I correct in thinking that since the source is NM, I need to run a ground wire inside of the EMT? I know that EMT can serve as a ground, but seem to recall that I cannot mix a wire ground and an EMT ground within the same circuit. No big deal, as I have a roll of green THWN as well, so I guess more a matter of interest than anything else. Thank you.

Advertisement

DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 11:32 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

ground question


As long as the groud wire from the romex is attached to the metal box that the conduit is attached too, you do not need a ground wire.
Since you have the wire, I would use it.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
DexterII (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 11:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ground question


no problem running a second equipment grounding conductor through the emt. like jbfan, i too would run the wire if you have it. it isn't required but is cheap insurance in case an emt fitting isn't properly tightened or something like that.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
DexterII (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 12:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,835
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default

ground question


Thank you. Not sure where I picked up the doubt, but yes, was thinking about it while wrapping up a few other things this morning, and agree; may as well just pull a ground wire with the others, and call it a day.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running ground for new upgraded 200 Amp service mbaldwin Electrical 11 05-26-2013 10:51 AM
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 11:58 PM
question on 240 wire size and ground for wall oven twobyfour2 Electrical 8 04-30-2011 08:13 AM
Question about sub panel ground Richo Electrical 17 04-25-2011 10:18 AM
Above ground pool cover question joeg679 General DIY Discussions 8 08-03-2010 05:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts