Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2013, 02:12 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central NE
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Ground plan for my 200A upgrade


Okay, is it possible to have the ground to big? I am asking because I did find a place that has the 4/0-4/0-4/0-2/0 al SE-R cable for $4.14 per foot. the 4/0-4/0-2/0 al URD, which just a few moments ago I thought I would use is $3.19 per foot. the #4 ground is $1.05 per foot, plust another $1.00 or so per foot for the conduit. So using the SE-R will cost less over all. is there any reason I should not use it, now that I found it, and it seems it will cost me less? The other thing, it seems the URD can not be used inside either, so I guess that is out on that fact as well.

Thanks to all,
Michael

mbaldwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:28 PM   #17
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,675
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Ground plan for my 200A upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by mbaldwin
Okay, is it possible to have the ground to big? I am asking because I did find a place that has the 4/0-4/0-4/0-2/0 al SE-R cable for $4.14 per foot. the 4/0-4/0-2/0 al URD, which just a few moments ago I thought I would use is $3.19 per foot. the #4 ground is $1.05 per foot, plust another $1.00 or so per foot for the conduit. So using the SE-R will cost less over all. is there any reason I should not use it, now that I found it, and it seems it will cost me less? The other thing, it seems the URD can not be used inside either, so I guess that is out on that fact as well.

Thanks to all,
Michael
The URD cannot enter the building unless it is dual rated RHH/ RHW.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 06:01 PM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Ground plan for my 200A upgrade


As long as the SER does not go underground then you can use it. But I do find that stuff a pain to work with.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:47 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central NE
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Ground plan for my 200A upgrade


No, it will not go under ground. It will follow the garage walla bout 20 foot, then go in to the crawl space via hole in the rim joist, and travel perpidicular to the floor joists for about 28 foot, enter the basement, then turn and go back about 15 foot where it will connect with the panel. Of course there are some other twists and turns a long the way, it is not a straight as it sounds. I did go pick up the wire tonight. I got lucky, there was a section sitting that was discounted by about $1.00 per foot. Must have been the last bit of a spool, and it was only 5 foot longer than I needed.

It does look like it will be a pain to work with. Especially because i am considering putting the bit that is in the garage through conduit to protect it a little more, and I think it will look better.

Thanks again for all the tips and suggestions, I do appreciate it.
Michael

mbaldwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My plan for bsmnt has panel packed - should I upgrade? danielrg Electrical 20 07-01-2013 10:12 PM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
200A Upgrade - Meter Socket Location Question bjones Electrical 2 11-12-2007 03:03 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.